设置辅助工具首选项

Acrobat 提供了多个首选项,可帮助视力不佳和行动不便的用户更方便地阅读 PDF。这些首选项控制 PDF 在屏幕上显示的方式,以及屏幕阅读器阅读 PDF 的方式。

大部分与辅助工具相关的首选项可通过“辅助工具设置助手”进行访问,该助手可在屏幕上提供这些首选项的设置说明。某些影响辅助工具的首选项(包括“朗读”、“表单”和“多媒体”种类下的首选项)不可通过“辅助工具设置助手”进行访问。您可以在“首选项”对话框中设置首选项。

辅助工具设置助手”中的部分首选项与“首选项”对话框中的同一首选项名称不同。Acrobat 的“帮助”使用“首选项”对话框中显示的名称。

有关辅助工具功能的更多信息,请访问 www.adobe.com/accessibility

要使用“辅助工具设置助手”设置辅助工具首选项

  1. 请执行以下任一操作来启动“辅助工具设置助手”:
    • 选择“工具”>“辅助工具”>“设置助手”。

    • (仅限 Windows)首次启动 Acrobat 时,运行屏幕阅读器和屏幕放大镜。

  2. 选择与您的辅助软件和设备合适的选项。

    助手根据您选择的选项,仅显示与您的辅助软件和设备合适的首选项。

  3. 然后按照屏幕上的说明进行操作。如果在任意时刻单击“取消”,Acrobat 将使用助手所设置的首选项默认设置(不推荐)。

设置“首选项”对话框的辅助工具首选项

  1. 在“首选项”对话框的不同面板上设置与您的辅助软件和设备合适的首选项。

辅助工具首选项

“辅助工具”窗格上的辅助工具首选项

替换文档颜色

选择本首选项后,您可以从高对比度颜色组合列表中选择,或您可以重新创建文本和背景颜色。这些设置与“辅助工具设置助手”中的“为文档文本使用高对比度颜色”选项相对应。

总是使用页面布局样式

与“辅助工具设置助手”中的“忽略页面布局样式”选项相对应。

总是使用缩放设置

与“辅助工具设置助手”中的“忽略文档缩放”选项相对应。

若未明确指定跳位顺序,则使用文档结构来跳位

对于未指定跳位顺序的文档,可改善其表单域和链接的导览。

总是显示键盘选择光标

如果您使用屏幕放大器,请选择该选项。此首选项与“辅助工具设置助手”中的“总是显示键盘选择光标”选项相对应。

总是使用系统选择颜色

选择本首选项后,系统指定的颜色将覆盖默认选择颜色(蓝色)。

在文件模式下显示包

选择此首选项后,将在列表中显示 PDF 包组件文件和文件详细信息。文件模式可以帮助行动不便、失明和视力不佳等残障人士获得更好的阅读体验。

“文档”面板上的辅助工具首选项

自动保存文档更改到临时文件每隔

当不选中时,本首选项停用自动保存操作。每次保存 PDF 时,屏幕阅读器或放大器必须重新加载文档。此首选项与“辅助工具设置助手”中的“停用文档自动保存”选项相对应。

“表单”面板上的“辅助工具”首选项

“域高亮颜色”和“表单域必填栏位的高亮颜色”

这些首选项指定用来高亮显示可填写表单域的颜色。与“辅助工具设置助手”中的“域高亮颜色”和“表单域必填栏位的高亮颜色”选项相对应。

自动完成

启用 Acrobat 以自动完成表单域中的某些条目,以便在填写表单域时减少按键次数。此首选项与“辅助工具设置助手”中的选项不对应。

“多媒体”面板上的“辅助工具”首选项

  • 可用时显示子标题

  • 可用时播放配音

  • 可用时显示补充文本标题

  • 可用时显示音频说明(或视频说明,或纪实视频)

这些首选项与“辅助工具设置助手”中的选项不对应。

“页面显示”面板中的“辅助工具”首选项

缩放

设置文档的屏幕放大倍数,以便低视力读者可以更轻松地阅读重排后的 PDF。此首选项与“辅助工具设置助手”中的“忽略文档缩放”选项相对应。

平滑文本

控制文本的反走样。要停用平滑文本并使文本更锐利和更容易被屏幕放大镜阅读,请选取“无”。此首选项与“辅助工具设置助手”中的“停用文本平滑”选项相对应。

“朗读”面板上的“辅助工具”首选项

阅读顺序

指定文档的阅读顺序。阅读顺序首选项也显示在“辅助工具设置助手”中。

从文档推断阅读顺序(建议)

使用推断结构布局分析的高级方法解释未加标签的文档的阅读顺序。

按从左至右,从上至下的阅读顺序

根据文本在页面上的位置,以从左至右和从上至下的顺序阅读。本方法比“从文档推断阅读顺序”快。本方法仅分析文本;但会忽略表单域,且无法识别表。

使用原始打印流中的阅读顺序

以在打印流中记录的顺序发送文本。本方法比“从文档推断阅读顺序”快。本方法仅分析文本;但会忽略表单域,且无法识别表。

忽略加标签文档中的阅读顺序

使用在“阅读”首选项中指定的阅读顺序,而不是文档标签结构指定的阅读顺序。本选项仅在加标签不当的 PDF 中遇到问题时使用。此首选项与“辅助工具设置助手”中的“忽略加标签文档中的阅读顺序”选项相对应。

页面与文档

本首选项决定文档一次交付给屏幕阅读器的量。如果 PDF 未添加标签,Acrobat 可能会分析文档并尝试推断其结构和阅读顺序。对于较长的文档,此过程会花费很长一段时间。可以考虑将 Acrobat 设置为仅发送当前可见页面,进而每次只分析文档的一小部分。本注意事项因文档的大小和复杂程度以及屏幕阅读器的功能而不同。当 Acrobat 将信息发送给屏幕阅读器、屏幕放大镜和其它辅助软件时,它将信息加载到可供辅助软件直接使用的内存缓冲区。发送到内存缓冲区的信息量会影响 Acrobat 执行任务(例如打开文档、前进到下一页、更改视图和执行命令)所需的时间。

仅阅读当前可见页面

当您使用屏幕放大器时,本选项通常是最好的选项。它将通过删除软件处理文档不可见部分的需求来改进性能。当 Acrobat 仅将 PDF 的当前可见页面发送到内存缓冲区时,辅助技术只能访问这些页面。它无法转至其它页面,除非下一页可见并且 Acrobat 已将该页面信息发送到内存缓冲区。因此,如果选中此选项,您必须使用 Acrobat 的导览功能(而非辅助技术的功能)来浏览文档中的页面。此外,如果您选择让 Acrobat 仅将当前可见页面发送到辅助技术,则还需要在首选项中将“默认页面布局”选项设置为“单页”。由于 Acrobat 会发送关于所有可见页面的页面信息,因此辅助技术会收到有关可能部分可见页面(如一个页面的底部或下一页的顶部)及完全可见页面的信息。如果您使用的页面显示设置并非“单页”(例如“连续”),则随后您显示下一页时,此项技术可能无法正确追踪前一页中已朗读的部分。有关将默认页面布局设置为“单页”的说明,请参阅查看 PDF 首选项

本选项与“辅助工具设置助手”中的“仅阅读当前可见页面”选项相对应。

阅读整个文档

如果您使用带有导览和搜索工具的屏幕阅读器,并且相比较 Acrobat 中的工具而言,您更熟悉屏幕阅读器,那么此选项可能最适合您。此选项与“辅助工具设置助手”中的“一次阅读整个文档”选项相对应。

对于大型文档,仅阅读当前可见页面

本选项默认选中并且在您使用屏幕阅读器阅读很长或很复杂的 PDF 时最适合您。它允许 Acrobat 一次发送整个小文档,但是对于较大文档,将恢复逐页发送。此首选项与“辅助工具设置助手”中的“对于大型文档,仅阅读当前可见页面”选项相对应。

添加标签到文档之前进行确认

选中该选项时,允许用户在 Acrobat 准备朗读未加标签的文档前确认所使用的选项。加标签可能是一个非常耗时的过程,特别是对于大型文档。此首选项与“辅助工具设置助手”中的“为文档加标签前确认”选项相对应。

朗读功能选项

设置用于控制“朗读”的音量、语速和语音音调的首选项。可以选择使用默认语音或您的操作系统提供的任何语音。您还可以使用上下箭头读取文本块。这些首选项在“辅助工具设置助手”中没有对应的选项。

您可以使用键盘替代鼠标来导览。在 Mac OS 中,某些键盘访问功能可用;有关详细信息,请参阅您的操作系统的文档。在 Windows 中,Acrobat 中用于导览的一些键盘快捷键与其它 Windows 应用程序中使用的键盘快捷键不同。

当您在网络浏览器中打开 Acrobat 时,键盘命令首先会映射到网络浏览器。因此,某些键盘快捷键对于 Acrobat 不可用,或者仅当焦点移到 PDF 上时才可用。

有关辅助工具功能的信息,请访问 www.adobe.com/accessibility

启用加速键

您可以使用加速键选择某些工具并执行某些动作。Acrobat 中的大多数键盘快捷键不要求您启用单键加速键。

  1. 在“首选项”对话框中的“种类”下,选择“一般”,然后选择“使用单键加速键访问工具”。

注意:

某些屏幕阅读器无法同 Acrobat 单键加速键一起工作。

自动滚动

自动滚动功能可以更加方便的翻阅长 PDF,特别是已重排的文档。您无须使用键盘和鼠标就能翻阅文档。

  1. 选择“视图”>“页面显示”>“自动滚动”。
  2. 执行以下任一操作:
    • 要更改滚动速度到特定速度,请按数字键(9 为最快,0 为最慢)。

    • 要增加或降低滚动速度,请按“向上键”或“向下键”,具体取决于滚动的方向。

    • 要改变滚动的方向,请按减号 (-) 键。

    • 要跳至下一页或上一页,请按“向左键”或“向右键”。

    注意:

    要停止自动滚动,请按 Esc 键或再次选择“视图”>“页面显示”>“自动滚动”。

为盲文打印机另存具有辅助工具的文本

注意:

本文档中的“盲文打印机”指的是任何用于将具有辅助工具的文本转变为供盲人或视力不佳者使用的表单的设备。

您可以将 PDF 作为可访问文本保存来在盲文打印机上打印。使用盲文翻译应用程序,具有辅助工具的文本可以作为格式化 1 级或 2 级盲文文档导入和打印。请参阅盲文翻译工具中包含的文档来获取详细信息。

PDF 的文本版本不包含图像或多媒体对象。但具有辅助工具的 PDF 的文本版本包含此类对象的替代文本说明(如果提供了这些说明)。

  1. 选择“文件”>“导出到”>“文本(具备辅助工具)”。

重排 PDF

您可以重排 PDF 来临时将它显示为宽度为文档窗格的单独的栏。此重排视图可以帮助在移动设备上更轻松地阅读文档,或在标准显示器上放大,而不必水平滚动来阅读文本。

您无法在“重排”视图中保存、编辑或打印文档。

在大多数情况下,仅可读文本显示在重排视图中。不进行重排的文本包括表单、注释、数字签名域以及页面的页码、页眉和页脚。同时包含可读文本和表单或数字签名域的页面不进行重排。垂直文本会水平重排。

Acrobat 在重排之前,临时对未加标签的文档添加标签。作为作者,您可以通过为 PDF 添加标签来优化这些文档,以进行重排。加标签会确保文本块重排和内容顺序流畅,因此读者可以轻松的浏览跨页或跨栏的文章,而不会被其它文章截断。

要快速检查文档的阅读顺序,请在“重排”视图中查看文档。

(Acrobat Pro) 如果加标签的 PDF 未按预期方式重排,请检查 PDF 文件的内容顺序或阅读顺序是否不一致。此外,请检查加标签的过程。您可以使用“内容”窗格或阅读顺序工具来解决重排问题。

标题和文字栏(左)以逻辑阅读顺序重排(右)
标题和文字栏(左)以逻辑阅读顺序重排(右)。

重排加标签的 PDF

  1. 选择“视图”>“缩放”>“重排”。

如果在您选择“重排”视图之前“页面显示”设置为“双页视图”,则文档重排之后“页面显示”设置将自动变为“单页视图”。如果在您选择“重排”视图之前“页面显示”设置为“双页滚动”,则文档重排之后“页面显示”设置将自动变为“启用滚动”。

返回没有重排的视图

  1. 当在“重排”视图中时,请选择“视图”>“缩放”>“重排”。

用屏幕阅读器阅读 PDF

Acrobat 支持辅助软件和设备(例如屏幕阅读器和屏幕放大器),从而使视力不佳的用户能够与计算机应用程序交互。当辅助软件和设备都在使用中时,Acrobat 可将临时标签添加到已打开的 PDF 中,以提升其可读性。使用“辅助工具设置助手”可改进 Acrobat 与您所用辅助软件和设备的类型的交互方式。当使用屏幕阅读器时,可通过选择“工具”>“辅助工具”>“更改阅读选项”来更改当前文档的阅读设置。

请参阅针对您的辅助软件或设备的文档。或者,请与供应商联系,以获取有关系统需求和兼容性需求的详细信息,以及将此软件或设备与 Acrobat 一起使用的说明。

有关使用屏幕阅读器的更多信息,请参阅 www.adobe.com/accessibility/pdfs/accessing-pdf-sr.pdf

用朗读阅读 PDF

朗读”功能可大声朗读 PDF 中的文本,包括注释中的文本以及图像或可填充域的替代文本描述。在加标签的 PDF 中,内容以它显示在文档的逻辑结构树中顺序阅读。在未加标签的文档中,“朗读”功能会推断出阅读顺序,除非已在“阅读”首选项中指定阅读顺序。

朗读”使用系统中已安装的可用语音。如果您已从文字语音转换应用程序或语言应用程序安装了 SAPI 4 或 SAPI 5 语音,则您可以选择它们来阅读 PDF。

注意:

朗读”不是屏幕阅读器,并且某些操作系统不支持该功能。

启用或停用“朗读”

您必须先启用“朗读”然后才可以使用该功能。您可以停用“朗读”来释放系统资源并改善其它操作的效果。

  1. 执行以下任一操作:
    • 选择“视图”>“朗读”>“启用朗读”。

    • 选择“视图”>“朗读”>“停用朗读”。

    注意:

    此外,您还可以使用“选择对象”工具来查找文本。启用“朗读”,然后选择“工具”>“交互对象”>“选择对象”。使用向上/下键和向左/右键导览文档。您可以听到“选择对象”工具所在位置的内容,例如标题或段落。

用朗读阅读 PDF

  1. 请导览到要阅读的页面。
  2. 执行以下任一操作:
    • 选择“视图”>“朗读”>“仅朗读本页”。

    • 选择“视图”>“朗读”>“朗读到文档结尾处”。

朗读 PDF 表单域

  1. 在“首选项”对话框的“朗读”面板中,在“朗读选项”部分中选中“朗读表单域”。
  2. 在 PDF 表单中,按 Tab 键来选择第一个表单域。
  3. 根据需要制作条目和选项,然后请按“标签”键来移动到下个域,重复本步骤直到表单完成。Acrobat 会朗读所选复选框和单选按钮的状态。

    注意:

    朗读”不会响应按键。要听到您键入的内容,请使用屏幕阅读器。

中断朗读

  1. 执行以下任一操作:
    • 选择“视图”>“朗读”>“暂停”。

    • 选择“视图”>“朗读”>“停止”。

关于操作系统辅助工具

Windows 中的辅助工具

Windows XP、Vista、Windows 7 和 Windows 8.x 操作系统有一些内建工具,这些工具可按照增强或替代方式访问计算机屏幕上的信息。“讲述人”是屏幕阅读器的免费版本。“放大镜”是屏幕放大工具。

有关 Windows XP、Vista、Windows 7 或 Windows 8.x 操作系统中辅助工具的详细信息,请访问 Microsoft 辅助工具网站。

Mac OS 中辅助工具

Mac OS X 提供了增强或替代访问计算机屏幕信息的内建工具。

有关 Mac OS X 操作系统辅助工具的详细信息,请参阅 Apple® Inc. 辅助工具网站。

本产品经 Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 Unported License 许可  Twitter™ 与 Facebook 中的内容不在 Creative Commons 的条款约束之下。

法律声明   |   在线隐私策略

Setting accessibility preferences

Acrobat provides several preferences that help make the reading of PDFs more accessible for visually impaired and motion-impaired users. These preferences control how PDFs appear on the screen and how they are read by a screen reader.

Most preferences related to accessibility are available through the Accessibility Setup Assistant, which provides onscreen instructions for setting these preferences. Some preferences that affect accessibility aren’t available through the Accessibility Setup Assistant including preferences in the Reading, Forms, and Multimedia categories. You can set all preferences in the Preferences dialog box.

The names shown for some preferences in the Accessibility Setup Assistant are different from the names for the same preferences shown in the Preferences dialog box. Acrobat Help uses the names shown in the Preferences dialog box.

For more information about accessibility features, see www.adobe.com/accessibility.

Set accessibility preferences with the Accessibility Setup Assistant

  1. Start the Accessibility Setup Assistant by doing one of the following:
    • Choose Tools > Accessibility > Setup Assistant.

    • (Windows only) Start Acrobat for the first time while a screen reader or screen magnifier is running.

  2. Choose the option that is appropriate for your assistive software and devices.

    The assistant presents only preferences that are appropriate for your assistive software and devices, according to the option that you choose.

  3. Follow the onscreen instructions. If you click Cancel at any point, Acrobat uses default settings for the preferences that the assistant sets (not recommended).

Set accessibility preferences with the Preferences dialog box

  • Set preferences as appropriate for your assistive software and devices in various panels of the Preferences dialog box.

Accessibility preferences

Accessibility preferences in Accessibility panel

Replace Document Colors

When this preference is selected, you can choose from a list of contrasting color combinations for text and background, or you can create your own. These settings correspond to the Use High Contrast Colors For Document Text option in the Accessibility Setup Assistant.

Always Use Page Layout Style

Corresponds to the Override Page Layout Style option in theAccessibility Setup Assistant.

Always Use Zoom Setting

Corresponds to the Override Document Zoom option in the AccessibilitySetup Assistant.

Use Document Structure For Tab Order When No ExplicitTab Order Is Specified

Improves navigation of form fields and links in documents that don’t specify a tab order.

Always Display The Keyboard Selection Cursor

Select this option if you use a screen magnifier. This preference corresponds to the Always Display The Keyboard Selection Cursor option in the Accessibility Setup Assistant.

Always Use The System Selection Color

When selected, the default selection color (blue) is overridden with a color that the system specifies.

Show Portfolios In Files Mode

When selected, shows PDF Portfolio component files and file details in a list. Files mode provides a better reading experience for people with disabilities, such as mobility impairments, blindness, and low vision.

Accessibility preferences in Documents panel

Automatically Save Document Changes To Temporary File Every

When deselected, this preference disables the auto-save action. Each time a PDF is saved, the screen reader or magnifier must reload the document. This preference corresponds to the Disable Document Auto-Save option in the Accessibility Setup Assistant.

Accessibility preferences in Forms panel

Fields Highlight Color and Required Fields Highlight Color

These preferences specify what colors are used to highlight fillable form fields. They correspond to the Field Highlight Color and Required Field Highlight Color options in the Accessibility Setup Assistant.

Auto-Complete

Enables Acrobat to automatically offer to complete some entries in form fields so that filling form fields requires fewer keystrokes. This preference doesn’t correspond to an option in the Accessibility Setup Assistant.

Accessibility preferences in Multimedia panel

  • Show Subtitles When Available

  • Play Dubbed Audio When Available

  • Show Supplemental Text Captions When Available

  • Show Audio Description (Or Video Description, Or Descriptive Video) When Available

These preferences don’t correspond to any options in the Accessibility Setup Assistant.

Accessibility preferences in Page Display panel

Zoom

Sets the onscreen magnification of documents and allows low-vision readers to read reflowed PDFs more easily. This preference corresponds to the Override Document Zoom option in the Accessibility Setup Assistant.

Smooth Text

Controls anti-aliasing of text. To disable smoothing of text and make text sharper and easier to read with a screen magnifier, choose None. This preference corresponds to the Disable Text Smoothing option in the Accessibility Setup Assistant.

Accessibility preferences in Reading panel

Reading Order

Specifies the reading order of documents. The reading order preferences also appear in the Accessibility Setup Assistant.

Infer Reading Order From Document (Recommended)

Interprets the reading order of untagged documents by using an advanced method of structure-inference layout analysis.

Left-To-Right, Top-To-Bottom Reading Order

Delivers the text according to its placement on the page, reading from left to right and then top to bottom. This method is faster than Infer Reading Order From Document. This method analyzes text only; form fields are ignored and tables aren’t recognized as such.

Use Reading Order In Raw Print Stream

Delivers text in the order in which it was recorded in the print stream. This method is faster than Infer Reading Order From Document. This method analyzes text only; form fields are ignored and tables aren’t recognized as such.

Override The Reading Order In Tagged Documents

Uses the reading order specified in the Reading preferences instead what the tag structure of the document specifies. Use this preference only when you encounter problems in poorly tagged PDFs. This preference corresponds to the Override The Reading Order In Tagged Documents option in the Accessibility Setup Assistant.

Page Vs Document

This preference determines how much of a document is delivered to a screen reader at a time. If a PDF isn’t tagged, Acrobat may analyze the document and attempt to infer its structure and reading order. This process can take a long time for a long document. Consider setting Acrobat to deliver only the currently visible page so that it analyzes only a small piece of the document at a time. This consideration varies depending on the size and complexity of the document and on the features of the screen reader. When Acrobat delivers information to a screen reader, screen magnifier, or other assistive software, it loads information into a memory buffer that is directly available to the assistive software. The amount of information that is delivered to the memory buffer can affect how long Acrobat takes to perform tasks, such as opening the document, advancing to the next page, changing views, and carrying out commands.

Only Read The Currently Visible Pages

This option is usually best when you use a screen magnifier. It improves performance by eliminating the need for the software to process parts of the document that aren’t visible. When Acrobat sends only the currently visible pages of a PDF to the memory buffer, the assistive technology has access to those pages only. It cannot go to another page until the next page is visible and Acrobat has sent the page information to the memory buffer. Therefore, if this option is selected, you must use the navigation features of Acrobat, not the features of the assistive technology, to navigate from page to page in the document. Also set theDefault Page Layout option in preferences to Single Page if you choose to have Acrobat send only the currently visible pages to the assistive technology. Because Acrobat sends page information about all visible pages, the assistive technology receives information about pages that may be only partially visible (such as the bottom of one page or the top of the next), as well as those pages that are completely visible. If you use a page display setting other than Single Page, such as Continuous, and then you display the next page, the technology may not correctly track which portion of a previous page it has already read aloud. For instructions on setting the default page layout to Single Page, see Preferences for viewing PDFs.

This option corresponds to the Only Read The Currently Visible Pages option in the Accessibility Setup Assistant.

Read The Entire Document

This option can be best if you use a screen reader that has its own navigation and search tools and that is more familiar to you than the tools in Acrobat. This option corresponds to the Read The Entire Document At Once option in the Accessibility Setup Assistant.

For Large Documents, Only Read The Currently Visible Pages

This option is selected by default and is usually best if you use a screen reader with long or complex PDFs. It allows Acrobat to deliver an entire small document but revert to page-by-page delivery for large documents. This preference corresponds to the For Large Documents, Only Read The Currently Visible Pages option in the Accessibility Setup Assistant.

Confirm Before Tagging Documents

When selected, lets the user confirm the options that are used before Acrobat prepares an untagged document for reading. Tagging can be a time-consuming procedure, especially for larger documents. This preference corresponds to the Confirm Before Tagging Documents option in the Accessibility Setup Assistant.

Read Out Loud Options

Set preferences in to control volume, speed, and pitch of the voice used for Read Out Loud. You can choose to use the default voice or any of the voices that your operating system provides. You can also use the up and down arrows to read blocks of text. These preferences do not have corresponding options in the Accessibility Setup Assistant.

You can navigate by using the keyboard instead of the mouse. Several keyboard access features are available in Mac OS; see the documentation for your operating system for details. In Windows, some of the keyboard shortcuts used to navigate in Acrobat differ from the keyboard shortcuts used in other Windows applications.

When you open Acrobat within a web browser, keyboard commands are mapped to the web browser first. Consequently, some keyboard shortcuts are not available in Acrobat or are available only after you shift the focus to the PDF.

For information about accessibility features, see www.adobe.com/accessibility.

Enable single-key accelerators

You can select some tools and perform some actions with single-key accelerators. Most keyboard shortcuts in Acrobat don’t require that you enable single-key accelerators.

  • In the Preferences dialog box under Categories, select General, and then select Use Single-Key Accelerators To Access Tools.

Note:

Some screen readers do not work with Acrobat single-key accelerators.

Scroll automatically

The automatic scrolling feature makes it easier to scan through long PDFs, especially reflowed documents. You can scroll through pages without using keystrokes or mouse actions.

  1. Choose View > Page Display > Automatically Scroll.
  2. Do any of the following:
    • To change the scrolling speed to a specific speed, press a number key (9 for fastest, 0 for slowest).

    • To increase or decrease the scrolling speed, press the Up Arrow or Down Arrow key, depending on the direction of scrolling.

    • To reverse the direction of scrolling, press the minus sign (-) key.

    • To jump to the next or previous page, press the Left Arrow or Right Arrow key.

    Note:

    To stop automatic scrolling, press Esc or choose View> Page Display >Automatically Scroll again.

Save as accessible text for a braille printer

Note:

This document uses the term “braille printer” to refer to any device that is used to convert accessible text to a form that a person with blindness or low vision can use.

You can save a PDF as accessible text to print on a braille printer. Accessible text can be imported and printed out as formatted grade 1 or 2 braille documents by using a braille translation application. See the documentation included with the braille translator for more information.

A text version of a PDF contains no images or multimedia objects. However, the text version of an accessible PDF contains alternate text descriptions for such objects if they have been provided.

  • Choose FileExport To > Text (Accessible).

Reflow a PDF

You can reflow a PDF to temporarily present it as a single column that is the width of the document pane. This reflow view can make the document easier to read on a mobile device or magnified on a standard monitor, without scrolling horizontally to read the text.

You cannot save, edit, or print a document while it is in Reflow view.

In most cases, only readable text appears in the reflow view. Text that doesn’t reflow includes forms, comments, digital signature fields, and page artifacts, such as page numbers, headers, and footers. Pages that contain both readable text and form or digital signature fields don’t reflow. Vertical text reflows horizontally.

Acrobat temporarily tags an untagged document before reflowing it. As an author, you can optimize your PDFs for reflow by tagging them yourself. Tagging ensures that text blocks reflow and that content follows the appropriate sequences, so readers can follow a story that spans different pages and columns without other stories interrupting the flow.

To quickly check the reading order of a document, view it in Reflow view.

(Acrobat Pro) If the tagged PDF doesn’t reflow the way you want, see if the content order or reading order of the PDF file contains inconsistencies. Also check the tagging process. You can use the Content pane or the Touch Up Reading Order tool to resolve reflow problems.

Headings and columns (left) reflow in a logical reading order (right)
Headings and columns (left) reflow in a logical reading order (right).

Reflow a tagged PDF

  • Choose View > Zoom > Reflow.

If the Page Display setting is Two Page View before you choose Reflow view, the Page Display setting automatically becomes Single Page View when the document is reflowed. If the Page Display setting is Two Page Scrolling before you choose Reflow view, the Page Display setting automatically becomes Enable Scrolling when the document is reflowed.

Return to unreflowed view

  • When in Reflow view, choose View > Zoom > Reflow.

Reading a PDF with a screen reader

Acrobat supports assistive software and devices, such as screen readers and screen magnifiers, that enable visually impaired users to interact with computer applications. When assistive software and devices are in use, Acrobat adds temporary tags to open PDFs to improve their readability. Use the Accessibility Setup Assistant to improve how Acrobat interacts with the types of assistive software and devices that you use. When using a screen reader, you can change your reading settings for the current document by choosing Tools > Accessibility > Change Reading Options.

See the documentation for your assistive software or device. Or, contact the vendor for more information about system requirements, compatibility requirements, and instructions for using this software or device with Acrobat.

For more information about using screen readers, see www.adobe.com/accessibility/pdfs/accessing-pdf-sr.pdf.

Read a PDF with Read Out Loud

The Read Out Loud feature reads aloud the text in a PDF, including the text in comments and alternate text descriptions for images and fillable fields. In tagged PDFs, content is read in the order in which it appears in the document’s logical structure tree. In untagged documents, the reading order is inferred, unless a reading order has been specified in the Reading preferences.

Read Out Loud uses the available voices installed on your system. If you have SAPI 4 or SAPI 5 voices installed from text-to-speech or language applications, you can choose them to read your PDFs.

Note:

Read Out Loud isn’t a screen reader, and some operating systems don’t support it.

Activate or deactivate Read Out Loud

You must activate Read Out Loud before you can use it. You can deactivate Read Out Loud to free system resources and improve performance of other operations.

  • Do one of the following:
    • Choose View > Read Out Loud > Activate Read Out Loud.

    • Choose View > Read Out Loud > Deactivate ReadOut Loud.

    Note:

    You can also use the Select Object tool to locate text. Activate Read Out Loud, and then choose Tools > Interactive Objects >Select Object. Use the up/down and left/right arrow keys to navigate through the document. You can hear where the Select Object tool has been placed, such as a heading or paragraph.

Read a PDF with Read Out Loud

  1. Navigate to the page that you want to read.
  2. Do one of the following:
    • Choose View > Read Out Loud > Read This Page Only.

    • Choose View > Read Out Loud > Read To End Of Document.

Read PDF form fields out loud

  1. In the Reading panel of the Preferences dialog box, select Read Form Fields in the Read Out Loud Options section.
  2. In the PDF form, press Tab to select the first form field.
  3. Make entries and selections as needed, and then press Tab to move to the next field, repeating this step until the form is completed. Acrobat reads the state of selected check boxes and radio buttons.

    Note:

    Read Out Loud does not echo your keystrokes. To hear what you have typed, use a screen reader.

Interrupt reading out loud

  • Do one of the following:
    • Choose View > Read Out Loud > Pause.

    • Choose View > Read Out Loud > Stop.

About operating system accessibility tools

Accessibility tools in Windows

Windows XP, Vista, Windows 7, and Windows 8.x operating systems have built-in tools that provide increased or alternate access to information on the computer screen. Narrator is a light version of a screen reader. Magnifier is a screen magnification tool.

For more information on the accessibility tools in the Windows XP, Vista, Windows 7, or Windows 8.x operating systems, see the Microsoft accessibility website.

Accessibility tools in Mac OS

Mac OS X has built-in tools that provide increased or alternate access to information on the computer screen.

For more information on the accessibility tools in the Mac OS X operating system, see the Apple® Inc. accessibility website.

This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 Unported License  Twitter™ and Facebook posts are not covered under the terms of Creative Commons.

Legal Notices   |   Online Privacy Policy