对图稿应用颜色是一项常见的 Adobe Illustrator 任务,它要求了解有关颜色模型和颜色模式的一些知识。当对图稿应用颜色时,应想着用于发布图稿的最终媒体,以便能够使用正确的颜色模型和颜色定义。通过使用 Illustrator 中功能丰富的“色板”面板、“颜色参考”面板和“编辑颜色”/“重新着色图稿”对话框,可以轻松地试验和应用颜色。

颜色模型用于描述在数字图形中看到和用到的各种颜色。每种颜色模型(如 RGB、CMYK 或 HSB)分别表示用于描述颜色及对颜色进行分类的不同方法。颜色模型用数值来表示可见色谱。色彩空间是另一种形式的颜色模型,它有特定的色域(范围)。例如,RGB 颜色模型中存在多个色彩空间:Adobe® RGB、sRGB 和 Apple® RGB。虽然这些色彩空间使用相同的三个轴(R、G 和 B)定义颜色,但它们的色域却不相同。

关于数字图形中的颜色

我们用颜色模型来描述在数字图形中看到和用到的各种颜色。每种颜色模型(如 RGB、CMYK 或 HSB)分别表示用于描述颜色及对颜色进行分类的不同方法。颜色模型用数值来表示可见色谱。色彩空间是另一种形式的颜色模型,它有特定的色域(范围)。例如,RGB 颜色模型中存在多个色彩空间:Adobe® RGB、sRGB 和 Apple® RGB。虽然这些色彩空间使用相同的三个轴(R、G 和 B)定义颜色,但它们的色域却不相同。

处理图形颜色时,实际是在调整文件中的数值。您很容易将一个数字视为一种颜色,但这些数值本身并不是绝对的颜色,而只是在生成颜色的设备的色彩空间内具备一定的颜色含义。

由于每台设备有着自己独有的色彩空间,因此它们只能重现自己色域内的颜色。如果将图像从某台设备移至另一台设备,由于每台设备会按照自己的色彩空间解释 RGB 或 CMYK 值,所以图像颜色可能会发生变化。例如,通过桌面打印机打印出的颜色不可能与显示器上看到的颜色完全一致。打印机在 CMYK 色彩空间内运行,而显示器则在 RGB 色彩空间内运行, 它们的色域各不相同。油墨生成的某些颜色无法在显示器上显示,而在显示器上显示的某些颜色则同样无法用油墨在纸张上重现。

虽然不可能让不同设备上的所有颜色完全匹配,但您可以使用色彩管理来确保大多数颜色相同或相似,从而达到一致的呈现效果。

RGB、CMYK、HSB 和 Lab 颜色模型

RGB

绝大多数可视光谱都可表示为红、绿、蓝 (RGB) 三色光在不同比例和强度上的混合。这些颜色若发生重叠,则产生青、洋红和黄。

RGB 颜色称为加成色,因为您通过将 R、G 和 B 添加在一起(即所有光线反射回眼睛)可产生白色。加成色用于照明光、电视和计算机显示器。例如,显示器通过红色、绿色和蓝色荧光粉发射光线产生颜色。

加成色 (RGB)
加成色 (RGB)

A. 红色 B. 绿色 C. 蓝色 

您可以通过使用基于 RGB 颜色模型的 RGB 颜色模式处理颜色值。在 RGB 模式下,每种 RGB 成分都可使用从 0(黑色)到 255(白色)的值。例如,亮红色使用 R 值 246、G 值 20 和 B 值 50。当所有三种成分值相等时,产生灰色阴影。当所有成分的值均为 255 时,结果是纯白色;当该值为 0 时,结果是纯黑色。

Illustrator 还包括称为 Web 安全 RGB 的经修改的 RGB 颜色模式,这种模式仅包含适合在 Web 上使用的 RGB 颜色。

CMYK

RGB 模型取决于光源来产生颜色,而 CMYK 模型基于纸张上打印的油墨的光吸收特性。当白色光线照射到半透明的油墨上时,将吸收一部分光谱。没有吸收的颜色反射回您的眼睛。

混合纯青色 (C)、洋红色 (M) 和黄色 (Y) 色素可通过吸收产生黑色,或通过相减产生所有颜色。因此这些颜色称为减色。添加黑色 (K) 油墨以实现更好的阴影密度。(使用字母 K 的原因是黑色是产生其他颜色的“主”色,而字母 B 也代表蓝色。) 将这些油墨混合重现颜色的过程称为四色印刷

减色 (CMYK)
减色 (CMYK)

A. 青色 B. 洋红色 C. 黄色 D. 黑色 

您可以通过使用基于 CMYK 颜色模型的 CMYK 颜色模式处理颜色值。在 CMYK 模式下,每种 CMYK 四色油墨可使用从 0 至 100% 的值。为最亮颜色指定的印刷色油墨颜色百分比较低,而为较暗颜色指定的百分比较高。例如,亮红色可能包含 2% 青色、93% 洋红、90% 黄色和 0% 黑色。在 CMYK 对象中,低油墨百分比更接近白色,高油墨百分比更接近黑色。

准备用印刷色油墨打印文档时请使用 CMYK。

HSB

HSB 模型以人类对颜色的感觉为基础,描述了颜色的 3 种基本特性:

色相

反射自物体或投射自物体的颜色。在 0 到 360°的标准色轮上,按位置度量色相。在通常的使用中,色相由颜色名称标识,如红色、橙色或绿色。

饱和度

颜色的强度或纯度(有时称为色度)。饱和度表示色相中灰色分量所占的比例,它使用从 0%(灰色)至 100%(完全饱和)的百分比来度量。在标准色轮上,饱和度从中心到边缘递增。

亮度

亮度是颜色的相对明暗程度,通常使用从 0%(黑色)至 100%(白色)的百分比来度量。

HSB 颜色模型
HSB 颜色模型

A. 色相 B. 饱和度 C. 亮度 

Lab

CIE Lab 颜色模型是基于人对颜色的感觉。它是由专门制定各方面光线标准的组织 Commission Internationale d'Eclairage (CIE) 创建的数种颜色模型之一。

Lab 中的数值描述正常视力的人能够看到的所有颜色。因为 Lab 描述的是颜色的显示方式,而不是设备(如显示器、桌面打印机或数码相机)生成颜色所需的特定色料的数量,所以 Lab 被视为与设备无关的颜色模型。色彩管理系统使用 Lab 作为色标,将颜色从一个色彩空间转换到另一个色彩空间。

在 Illustrator 中,可以使用 Lab 模型创建、显示和输出专色色板。但是,不能以 Lab 模式创建文档。

灰度

灰度使用黑色调表示物体。每个灰度对象都具有从 0%(白色)到 100%(黑色)的亮度值。使用黑白或灰度扫描仪生成的图像通常以灰度显示。

使用灰度还可将彩色图稿转换为高质量黑白图稿。在这种情况下,Adobe Illustrator 放弃原始图稿中的所有颜色信息;转换对象的灰色级别(阴影)表示原始对象的明度。

将灰度对象转换为 RGB 时,每个对象的颜色值代表对象之前的灰度值。也可以将灰度对象转换为 CMYK 对象。

色彩空间和色域

色彩空间是可见光谱中的颜色范围。色彩空间也可以是另一种形式的颜色模型。Adobe RGB、Apple RGB 和 sRGB 是基于同一个颜色模型的不同色彩空间示例。

不同颜色空间的色域
不同颜色空间的色域

A. 可见色域 B. RGB 色彩空间 C. CMYK 色彩空间 

色彩空间包含的颜色范围称为色域。整个工作流程内用到的各种不同设备(计算机显示器、扫描仪、桌面打印机、印刷机、数码相机)都在不同的色彩空间内运行,它们的色域各不相同。某些颜色位于计算机显示器的色域内,但不在喷墨打印机的色域内;某些颜色位于喷墨打印机的色域内,但不在计算机显示器的色域内。无法在设备上生成的颜色被视为超出该设备的色彩空间。换句话说,该颜色超出色域

关于专色和印刷色

可以将颜色类型指定为专色或印刷色,这两种颜色类型与商业印刷中使用的两种主要的油墨类型相对应。在“色板”面板中,可以通过在颜色名称旁边显示的图标来识别该颜色的颜色类型。

对路径和框架应用颜色时,请记住出版该图稿的最终媒介,以便使用最合适的颜色模式应用颜色。

注意:

如果颜色工作流程涉及在设备间传输文档,您可能希望使用颜色管理系统 (CMS) 在整个过程中帮助保持和调整颜色。

关于专色

专色是一种预先混和的特殊油墨,用于替代印刷油墨或为其提供补充,它在印刷时需要使用专门的印版。当指定少量颜色并且颜色准确度很关键时请使用专色。专色油墨准确重现印刷色色域以外的颜色。但是,印刷专色的确切外观由印刷商所混合的油墨和所用纸张共同决定,而不是由您指定的颜色值或色彩管理决定。当您指定专色值时,您描述的仅是显示器和彩色打印机的颜色模拟外观(取决于这些设备的色域限制)。

指定专色时,请记住下列原则:

  • 要在打印的文档中实现最佳效果,请指定印刷商所支持的颜色匹配系统中的专色。本软件提供了一些颜色匹配系统库。

  • 最小化使用的专色数量。您创建的每个专色都将为印刷机生成额外的专色印版,从而增加您的打印成本。如果您认为需要四种以上专色,请考虑使用印刷色打印文档。

  • 如果某个对象包含专色并与另一个包含透明度的对象重叠,在导出为 EPS 格式时,使用“打印”对话框将专色转换为印刷色时,或者在 Illustrator 或 InDesign 以外的应用程序中创建分色时,可能会产生不希望出现的结果。要获得最佳效果,请在打印之前使用“拼合预览”或“分色预览”对拼合透明度的效果进行软校样。此外,在打印或导出之前,还可以使用 InDesign 中的“油墨管理器”将专色转换为印刷色。

  • 您可以使用专色印版在印刷色任务区上应用上光色。在这种情况下,您的印刷任务将总共使用五种油墨 - 四种印刷色油墨和一种专色上光色。

关于印刷色

印刷色是使用四种标准印刷油墨的组合打印的:青色、洋红色、黄色和黑色 (CMYK)。当作业需要的颜色较多而导致使用单独的专色油墨成本很高或者不可行时(例如,印刷彩色照片时),需要使用印刷色。

指定印刷色时,请记住下列原则:

  • 要使高品质印刷文档呈现最佳效果,请参考印刷在四色色谱(印刷商可能会提供)中的 CMYK 值来设定颜色。

  • 由于印刷色的最终颜色值是它的 CMYK 值,因此,如果使用 RGB(或 LAB,在 InDesign 中)指定印刷色,在进行分色打印时,系统会将这些颜色值转换为 CMYK 值。根据颜色管理设置和文档配置文件,这些转换会有所不同。

  • 除非您确信已正确设置了颜色管理系统,并且了解它在颜色预览方面的限制,否则,不要根据显示器上的显示来指定印刷色。

  • 因为 CMYK 的色域比普通显示器的色域小,所以应避免在只供联机查看的文档中使用印刷色。

  • 在 Illustrator 和 InDesign 中,可以将印刷色指定为全局色或非全局色。在 Illustrator 中,全局印刷色保持与“色板”面板中色板的链接,这样,如果修改某个全局印刷色的色板,则会更新所有使用该颜色的对象。编辑颜色时,文档中的非全局印刷色不会自动更新。默认情况下,印刷色为非全局色。在 InDesign 中为对象应用色板时,会自动将该色板作为全局印刷色进行应用。非全局色板是未命名的颜色,可以在“颜色”面板中对其进行编辑。

注意:

全局和非全局印刷色仅影响特定颜色应用于对象的方式,不影响在应用程序间移动它们时颜色如何分色或呈现。

同时使用专色和印刷色

有时,在同一作业中同时使用印刷油墨和专色油墨是可行的。例如,在年度报告的相同页面上,可以使用一种专色油墨来印刷公司徽标的精确颜色,而使用印刷色重现照片。还可以使用一个专色印版,在印刷色作业区域中应用上光色。在这两种情况下,打印作业共使用五种油墨:四种印刷色油墨和一种专色油墨或上光色。

在 InDesign 中,可以将印刷色和专色相混合以创建混合油墨颜色。

比较 InDesign 和 Illustrator 中的颜色

Adobe InDesign 和 Adobe Illustrator 应用命名颜色的方法略有不同。Illustrator 允许将一种命名颜色指定为全局或非全局颜色,而 InDesign 将所有未命名的颜色都视为非全局印刷色

InDesign 中的色板与全局颜色等效。使用色板无需定位和调节每个单独的对象,从而使得修改颜色方案变得更加容易。这在面向生产的标准化文档中尤为有用,例如杂志。由于 InDesign 颜色链接到“色板”面板中的色板,因此,对色板进行的任何更改都会影响所有应用了颜色的对象。

InDesign 中的未命名颜色与非全局色板等效。未命名颜色不会显示在“色板”面板中,在“颜色”面板中对这些颜色进行编辑后,并不会自动在整个文档中对其进行更新。不过,您可以随后在“色板”面板中添加未命名颜色。

命名颜色和未命名颜色仅影响特定颜色在文档中的更新方式,当您在应用程序之间移动这些颜色时,它们绝不会影响颜色的分色方式和作用方式。

本产品经 Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 Unported License 许可  Twitter™ 与 Facebook 中的内容不在 Creative Commons 的条款约束之下。

法律声明   |   在线隐私策略

Applying colors to artwork is a common Adobe Illustrator task, and one that requires some knowledge of color models and color modes. When applying color to artwork, keep in mind the final medium in which the artwork will be published, so that you can use the correct color model and color definitions. Experimenting and applying color is easy using the feature-rich Swatches panel, Color Guide panel, and Edit Colors/Recolor Artwork dialog box in Illustrator.

Color models describe the colors we see and work with in digital graphics. Each color model, such as RGB, CMYK, or HSB, represents a different method for describing and classifying color. Color models use numeric values to represent the visible spectrum of color. A color space is a variant of a color model and has a specific gamut (range) of colors. For example, within the RGB color model are a number of color spaces: Adobe® RGB, sRGB, and Apple® RGB. While each of these color spaces defines color using the same three axes (R, G, and B), their gamuts are different.

About colors in digital graphics

We use color models to describe the colors we see and work with in digital graphics. Each color model, such as RGB, CMYK, or HSB, represents a different method for describing and classifying color. Color models use numeric values to represent the visible spectrum of color. A color space is a variant of a color model and has a specific gamut (range) of colors. For example, within the RGB color model are a number of color spaces: Adobe® RGB, sRGB, and Apple® RGB. While each of these color spaces defines color using the same three axes (R, G, and B), their gamuts are different.

When you work with the colors in a graphic, you are actually adjusting numerical values in the file. It’s easy to think of a number as a color, but these numerical values are not absolute colors in themselves—they only have a color meaning within the color space of the device that is producing the color.

Because each device has its own color space, it can reproduce colors only in its gamut. When an image moves from one device to another, image colors may change because each device interprets the RGB or CMYK values according to its own color space. For example, it is impossible for all the colors viewed on a monitor to be identically matched in a print from a desktop printer. A printer operates in a CMYK color space, and a monitor operates in an RGB color space. Their gamuts are different. Some colors produced by inks cannot be displayed on a monitor, and some colors that can be displayed on a monitor cannot be reproduced using inks on paper.

Even though it is impossible to perfectly match all colors on different devices, you can use color management to ensure that most colors are the same or similar enough so they appear consistent.

RGB, CMYK, HSB, and Lab color models

RGB

A large percentage of the visible spectrum can be represented by mixing red, green, and blue (RGB) colored light in various proportions and intensities. Where the colors overlap, they create cyan, magenta, and yellow.

RGB colors are called additive colors because you create white by adding R, G, and B together—that is, all light is reflected back to the eye. Additive colors are used for lighting, television, and computer monitors. Your monitor, for example, creates color by emitting light through red, green, and blue phosphors.

Additive colors (RGB)
Additive colors (RGB)

A. Red B. Green C. Blue 

You can work with color values using the RGB color mode, which is based on the RGB color model. In RGB mode, each of the RGB components can use a value ranging from 0 (black) to 255 (white). For example, a bright red color might have an R value of 246, a G value of 20, and a B value of 50. When the values of all three components are equal, the result is a shade of gray. When the value of all components is 255, the result is pure white; when all components have values of 0, the result is pure black.

Illustrator also includes a modified RGB color mode called Web Safe RGB, which includes only those RGB colors that are appropriate for use on the web.

CMYK

Whereas the RGB model depends on a light source to create color, the CMYK model is based on the light-absorbing quality of ink printed on paper. As white light strikes translucent inks, a portion of the spectrum is absorbed. Color that is not absorbed is reflected back to your eye.

Combining pure cyan (C), magenta (M), and yellow (Y) pigments would result in black by absorbing, or subtracting, all colors. For this reason they are called subtractive colors. Black (K) ink is added for better shadow density. (The letter K came into use because black is the “key” color for registering other colors, and because the letter B also stands for blue.) Combining these inks to reproduce color is called four-color process printing.

Subtractive colors (CMYK)
Subtractive colors (CMYK)

A. Cyan B. Magenta C. Yellow D. Black 

You can work with color values using the CMYK color mode, which is based on the CMYK color model. In CMYK mode, each of the CMYK process inks can use a value ranging from 0 to 100%. The lightest colors are assigned small percentages of process ink colors; darker colors have higher percentage values. For example, a bright red might contain 2% cyan, 93% magenta, 90% yellow, and 0% black. In CMYK objects, low ink percentages are closer to white, and high ink percentages are closer to black.

Use CMYK when preparing a document to be printed using process inks.

HSB

Based on the human perception of color, the HSB model describes three fundamental characteristics of color:

Hue

Color reflected from or transmitted through an object. It is measured as a location on the standard color wheel, expressed as a degree between 0° and 360°. In common use, hue is identified by the name of the color, such as red, orange, or green.

Saturation

Strength or purity of the color (sometimes called chroma). Saturation represents the amount of gray in proportion to the hue, measured as a percentage from 0% (gray) to 100% (fully saturated). On the standard color wheel, saturation increases from the center to the edge.

Brightness

Relative lightness or darkness of the color, usually measured as a percentage from 0% (black) to 100% (white).

HSB color model
HSB color model

A. Hue B. Saturation C. Brightness 

Lab

The CIE Lab color model is based on the human perception of color. It is one of several color models produced by the Commission Internationale d’Eclairage (CIE), an organization dedicated to creating standards for all aspects of light.

The numeric values in Lab describe all the colors that a person with normal vision sees. Because Lab describes how a color looks rather than how much of a particular colorant is needed for a device (such as a monitor, desktop printer, or digital camera) to produce colors, Lab is considered to be a device-independent color model. Color management systems use Lab as a color reference to predictably transform a color from one color space to another color space.

In Illustrator, you can use the Lab model to create, display, and output spot color swatches. However, you cannot create documents in Lab mode.

Grayscale

Grayscale uses tints of black to represent an object. Every grayscale object has a brightness value ranging from 0% (white) to 100% (black). Images produced using black-and-white or grayscale scanners are typically displayed in grayscale.

Grayscale also lets you convert color artwork to high-quality black-and-white artwork. In this case, Adobe Illustrator discards all color information in the original artwork; the gray levels (shades) of the converted objects represent the luminosity of the original objects.

When you convert grayscale objects to RGB, the color values for each object are assigned that object’s previous gray value. You can also convert a grayscale object to a CMYK object.

Color spaces and gamuts

A color space is a range of colors in the visible spectrum. A color space can also be a variant of a color model. Adobe RGB, Apple RGB, and sRGB are examples of different color spaces based on the same color model.

Gamuts of different color spaces
Gamuts of different color spaces

A. Visual gamut B. RGB color space C. CMYK color space 

The range of color encompassed by a color space is called a gamut. The different devices (computer monitor, scanner, desktop printer, printing press, digital camera) throughout your workflow operate within different color spaces and each with different gamuts. Some colors within the gamut of your computer monitor are not within the gamut of your inkjet printer, and vice versa. When a color cannot be produced on a device, it’s considered to be outside the color space of that particular device. In other words, the color is out of gamut.

About spot and process colors

You can designate colors as either spot or process color types, which correspond to the two main ink types used in commercial printing. In the Swatches panel, you can identify the color type of a color using icons that appear next to the name of the color.

When applying color to paths and frames, keep in mind the final medium in which the artwork will be published, so that you apply color using the most appropriate color mode.

Note:

If your color workflow involves transferring documents among devices, you may want to use a color-management system (CMS) to help maintain and regulate colors throughout the process.

About spot colors

A spot color is a special premixed ink that is used instead of, or in addition to, process inks, and that requires its own printing plate on a printing press. Use spot color when few colors are specified and color accuracy is critical. Spot color inks can accurately reproduce colors that are outside the gamut of process colors. However, the exact appearance of the printed spot color is determined by the combination of the ink as mixed by the commercial printer and the paper it’s printed on, not by color values you specify or by color management. When you specify spot color values, you’re describing the simulated appearance of the color for your monitor and composite printer only (subject to the gamut limitations of those devices).

Keep the following guidelines in mind when specifying a spot color:

  • For best results in printed documents, specify a spot color from a color-matching system supported by your commercial printer. Several color-matching system libraries are included with the software.

  • Minimize the number of spot colors you use. Each spot color you create will generate an additional spot color printing plate for a printing press, increasing your printing costs. If you think you might require more than four colors, consider printing your document using process colors.

  • If an object contains spot colors and overlaps another object containing transparency, undesirable results may occur when exporting to EPS format, when converting spot colors to process colors using the Print dialog box, or when creating color separations in an application other than Illustrator or InDesign. For best results, use the Flattener Preview or the Separations Preview to soft proof the effects of flattening transparency before printing. In addition, you can convert the spot colors to process colors by using the Ink Manager in InDesign before printing or exporting.

  • You can use a spot color printing plate to apply a varnish over areas of a process color job. In this case, your print job would use a total of five inks—four process inks and one spot varnish.

About process colors

A process color is printed using a combination of the four standard process inks: cyan, magenta, yellow, and black (CMYK). Use process colors when a job requires so many colors that using individual spot inks would be expensive or impractical, as when printing color photographs.

Keep the following guidelines in mind when specifying a process color:

  • For best results in a high-quality printed document, specify process colors using CMYK values printed in process color reference charts, such as those available from a commercial printer.

  • The final color values of a process color are its values in CMYK, so if you specify a process color using RGB (or LAB, in InDesign), those color values will be converted to CMYK when you print color separations. These conversions differ based on your color-management settings and document profile.

  • Don’t specify a process color based on how it looks on your monitor, unless you are sure you have set up a color-management system properly, and you understand its limitations for previewing color.

  • Avoid using process colors in documents intended for online viewing only, because CMYK has a smaller color gamut than that of a typical monitor.

  • Illustrator and InDesign let you specify a process color as either global or non-global. In Illustrator, global process colors remain linked to a swatch in the Swatches panel, so that if you modify the swatch of a global process color, all objects using that color are updated. Non-global process colors do not automatically update throughout the document when the color is edited. Process colors are non-global by default. In InDesign, when you apply a swatch to objects, the swatch is automatically applied as a global process color. Non-global swatches are unnamed colors, which you can edit in the Color panel.

Note:

Global and non-global process colors only affect how a particular color is applied to objects, never how colors separate or behave when you move them between applications.

Using spot and process colors together

Sometimes it’s practical to use process and spot inks in the same job. For example, you might use one spot ink to print the exact color of a company logo on the same pages of an annual report where photographs are reproduced using process color. You can also use a spot color printing plate to apply a varnish over areas of a process color job. In both cases, your print job would use a total of five inks—four process inks and one spot ink or varnish.

In InDesign, you can mix process and spot colors together to create mixed ink colors.

Comparing colors in InDesign and Illustrator

Adobe InDesign and Adobe Illustrator use slightly different methods for applying named colors. Illustrator lets you specify a named color as either global or nonglobal, and InDesign treats all unnamed colors as nonglobal, process colors.

The InDesign equivalents to global colors are swatches. Swatches make it easier to modify color schemes without having to locate and adjust each individual object. This is especially useful in standardized, production-driven documents like magazines. Because InDesign colors are linked to swatches in the Swatches panel, any change to a swatch affects all objects to which a color is applied.

The InDesign equivalents to nonglobal swatches are unnamed colors. Unnamed colors do not appear in the Swatches panel, and they do not automatically update throughout the document when the color is edited in the Color panel. You can, however, add an unnamed color to the Swatches panel later.

Named and unnamed colors only affect how a particular color updates in your document, never how colors separate or behave when you move them between applications.

This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 Unported License  Twitter™ and Facebook posts are not covered under the terms of Creative Commons.

Legal Notices   |   Online Privacy Policy