Export pages, objects, and text

Last updated on Nov 10, 2026

Learn how to export pages, spreads, objects, and text in Adobe InDesign for use in other applications.

The export feature in Adobe InDesign allows you to save design content in formats suitable for sharing across platforms and devices. You can export an entire page, a spread, or a specific object based on your requirements.

Export pages or objects

Select Window > Pages to open the Pages panel.

Select a page or spread if you want to export a specific element. Proceed without selecting to export a page or spread.

Select File > Export.

Select the location and enter a File name.

Select JPEG or PNG in Save as type (Windows) or Format (macOS) and select Save.

Set JPEG and PNG export options and select Export.

Export from the Pages panel

Select Window > Pages.

Select the page or spread thumbnails you want to export, or leave all thumbnails unselected to export the entire document.

Select the panel menu icon, or right-click one or more pages or spreads, and choose Export Pages or Export Spreads for your selection. To export all pages, right-click an empty area of the panel and choose Export All Pages, regardless of the current selection.

Choose a format from the list, then select Save or Export depending on the format. Supported formats: Adobe PDF (Print), Adobe PDF (Interactive), EPS, JPEG, PNG, and EPUB (Fixed Layout). To save in formats such as EPUB (Reflowable) or other formats, use File > Export.

Export text

Use this feature to save all or part of an InDesign story in file formats that you can open later in other applications. Each story in a document is exported to a separate document.

InDesign can export text in several file formats, which are listed in the Export dialog box. The listed formats are used by other applications and may retain many of the type specifications, indents, and tabs set in your document.

You can save sections of commonly used text and page layout items as snippets.

Select the Type tool and then select the story you want to export.

Select File > Export.

Select the location and enter a File name.

Select a text file format using the Save as type (Windows) or Format (macOS) menu.

If your word processor isn’t listed, export as RTF or a text-only format. Text-only removes all character formatting.

Select Save.

To retain all formatting, use the Adobe InDesign Tagged Text export filter.