Generate text variations

Last updated on Nov 10, 2026

Learn how to generate new text, refine existing copy, and get grammar and copy suggestions in Adobe InDesign.

Select any text or place the cursor in a text frame to include the entire story.

Select Generate Text from the Contextual Task Bar (Window > Contextual Task Bar) to open the Generate panel. You can also access the Generate option from Window > Generate, the right-click menu, and Generate Text from the Quick Actions section of the Properties panel.

Select Generate , and the text frame will be filled with placeholder text that adheres to the Paragraph Style or fonts applied to the frame.

Type a description of the output you're looking for in the Prompt field and select Generate . The output language matches your prompt's language, regardless of the document or text frame's language.

Tip

If you want to update existing text, select Rephrase, Shorten, Lengthen, or Fit Text to refine your text and select Formal, Casual, Inspirational, Academic, Personal, or Comical to specify the tone. These actions operate in the language of the existing text in the selected frame.

You can view and select the generated variations in the Generate panel and preview them within the document.

Select Done or anywhere outside the Generate panel to commit the variation and replace the original text. Once committed, you can't view the other variations.

Things to consider before you refine text

  • This feature works best with up to ~1500 words of input text if you want to update or refine existing text.
  • The Fit Text option consumes one credit per generation, but all other Rewrite options are free to use. No credits will be deducted when you use the tone options, other text refine options, or generate text using a prompt.
  • The Lengthen option expands the text by 1.2 to 1.5 times the original text.
  • If you use Rephrase, Shorten, Lengthen, or change the tone, footnotes, hyperlinks, cross-references, and text variables will be removed from the text frame. However, Fit Text preserves these elements.

Grammar and copy suggestions

Work more efficiently with grammar and copy suggestions, and turn them on or off as needed.

Note

Grammar and copy suggestions are only available in English (International) and English (North America).

Fix grammar errors

InDesign checks text in selected text frames for grammar issues and shows suggestions you can apply with one click. It can suggest corrections for existing text as well as text you type or paste into a frame. Grammar suggestions don't consume credits.

Select the text frame containing the text you want to check for grammar issues. You can also type or paste text into the frame.

Select the underlined text marked with a blue squiggly underline to view up to two suggested corrections.

InDesign text frame with a blue squiggly underline and a pop-up showing the word make as a grammar suggestion.
Review grammar suggestions for text marked with a blue squiggly underline.

Select a suggestion to apply it or select the dismiss    icon to ignore it. To manage suggestions or provide feedback, select the more options  icon, then choose Hide grammar suggestions, Go to preferences, or Give feedback.

Review copy suggestions

InDesign checks your text for clarity, redundancy, and consistency, and suggests edits you can review and apply.

Type or paste text into a text frame.

Select the suggestion   icon that appears on the text frame to highlight all available copy suggestions.

 InDesign document with highlighted text and a suggestion card showing a polished wording option.
View copy suggestions directly in your layout.

Review the suggested change.

Select the apply    icon to accept the suggestion or select the dismiss   icon to ignore it. Applied changes are highlighted until you move to the next suggestion. Select the thumbs-up   icon or thumbs-down   icon to give feedback.

Note

Applying a suggestion uses 1 credit.

Turn suggestions on or off

Select Edit > Preferences.

 

Select an option to manage grammar and copy suggestions:

  • To manage copy suggestions, select Generative AI, then select or clear Enable Copy Suggestion.
  • To manage grammar suggestions, select Spelling & Grammar, then select or clear Enable Grammar Check.

Known issues

  • [macOS only] The Now InDesign Has Copy Suggestions onboarding message isn't displayed in the correct position.
  • [Windows ARM only] Copy Suggestions and Grammar cards on canvas don't appear on click.
  • Content in InDesign Library created in an older build isn't visible in the latest version (22.0.0).