关于前景色和背景色

Photoshop 使用前景色来绘画、填充和描边选区,使用背景色来生成渐变填充和在图像已抹除的区域中填充。一些特殊效果滤镜也使用前景色和背景色。

可以使用吸管工具、“颜色”面板、“色板”面板或 Adobe 拾色器指定新的前景色或背景色。

默认前景色是黑色,默认背景色是白色。(在 Alpha 通道中,默认前景色是白色,默认背景色是黑色。)

视频提示 | 为拾色器创建快捷方式

视频提示 | 为拾色器创建快捷方式
Scott Kelby

在工具箱中选取颜色

当前的前景色显示在工具箱上面的颜色选择框中,当前的背景色显示在下面的框中。

工具箱中的“前景色”框和“背景色”框
工具箱中的“前景色”框和“背景色”框

A. “默认颜色”图标 B. “切换颜色”图标 C. “前景色”框 D. “背景色”框 
  • 要更改前景色,请单击工具箱中靠上的颜色选择框,然后在 Adobe 拾色器中选取一种颜色。
  • 要更改背景色,请单击工具箱中靠下的颜色选择框,然后在 Adobe 拾色器中选取一种颜色。
  • 要反转前景色和背景色,请单击工具箱中的“切换颜色”图标。
  • 要恢复默认前景色和背景色,请单击工具箱中的“默认颜色”图标。

使用吸管工具选取颜色

吸管工具采集色样以指定新的前景色或背景色。您可以从现用图像或屏幕上的任何位置采集色样。

  1. 选择吸管工具
  2. 在选项栏中,从“取样大小”菜单中选择一个选项,更改吸管的取样大小。

    取样点

    读取所单击像素的精确值。

    3 x 3 平均、5 x 5 平均、11 x 11 平均、31 x 31 平均、51 x 51 平均、101 x 101 平均

    读取单击区域内指定像素数量的平均值。

    Photoshop 吸管工具
    用吸管工具选择前景色

  3. 从“样本”菜单选择以下选项之一:

    所有图层

    从文档中的所有图层中采集色样。

    当前图层

    从当前现用图层中采集色样。

  4. 要使用可在当前前景色上预览取样颜色的圆环来圈住吸管工具,请选择“显示取样环”。(此选项需要 OpenGL。请参阅启用 OpenGL 并优化 GPU 设置。)
  5. 执行下列操作之一:
    • 要选择新的前景色,请在图像内单击。或者,将指针放置在图像上,按鼠标按钮并在屏幕上随意拖动。前景色选择框会随着您的拖动不断变化。松开鼠标按钮,即可拾取新颜色。

    • 要选择新的背景色,请按住 Alt 键 (Windows) 或 Option 键 (Mac OS) 并在图像内单击。或者,将指针放置在图像上,按住 Alt 键 (Windows) 或 Options 键 (Mac OS),按下鼠标按钮并在屏幕上的任何位置拖动。背景色选择框会随着您的拖动不断变化。松开鼠标按钮,即可拾取新颜色。

    注意:

    要在使用任一绘画工具时暂时使用吸管工具选择前景色,请按住 Alt 键 (Windows) 或 Option 键 (Mac OS)。

Adobe 拾色器概述

在 Adobe 拾色器中,可以使用四种颜色模型来选取颜色:HSB、RGB、Lab 和 CMYK。使用 Adobe 拾色器可以设置前景色、背景色和文本颜色。也可以为不同的工具、命令和选项设置目标颜色。

可以对 Adobe 拾色器进行配置以便只选择 Web 安全颜色调板中的颜色,或从特定颜色系统中选择颜色。您还可以访问 HDR(高动态范围)拾色器以选取要在 HDR 图像中使用的颜色。

Adobe 拾色器中的色域将显示 HSB 颜色模式、RGB 颜色模式和 Lab 颜色模式中的颜色分量。如果您知道所需颜色的数值,则可以在文本字段中输入该数值。也可以使用颜色滑块和色域来预览要选取的颜色。在使用色域和颜色滑块调整颜色时,对应的数值会相应地调整。颜色滑块右侧的颜色框中的上半部分将显示调整后的颜色,下半部分将显示原始颜色。在以下两种情况下将会出现警告:颜色不是 Web 安全颜色 或者颜色是可打印色域之外的颜色(不可打印的颜色)

Photoshop 拾色器
Adobe 拾色器

A. 拾取的颜色 B. 原稿颜色 C. 调整后的颜色 D. “溢色”警告图标 E. 非 Web 安全颜色的警告图标 F. 仅显示 Web 安全颜色 G. 色域 H. 颜色滑块 I. 颜色值 

注意:

在 Adobe 拾色器中选择颜色时,会同时显示 HSB、RGB、Lab、CMYK 和十六进制数的数值。这对于查看各种颜色模型描述颜色的方式非常有用。

虽然在默认情况下,Photoshop 使用的是 Adobe 拾色器,但是您可以通过设置首选项来使用 Adobe 拾色器以外的其他拾色器。例如,可以使用计算机操作系统的内置拾色器或第三方增效工具拾色器。

显示拾色器

  • 在工具箱中,单击前景色或背景色选择框。
  • 在“颜色”面板中,单击“设置前景色”或“设置背景色”选择框。

    当某些功能可让您选取颜色时,也可使用拾色器。例如,通过单击一些工具的“选项”栏中的色板,或通过单击一些颜色调整对话框中的吸管工具。

使用 Adobe 拾色器选取颜色

您可以通过在 HSB、RGB 和 Lab 文本框中输入颜色分量值或使用颜色滑块和色域来选取颜色。

要使用颜色滑块和色域来选取颜色,请在颜色滑块中单击或移动颜色滑块三角形以设置一个颜色分量。然后移动圆形标记或在色域中单击。这将设置其它两个颜色分量。

在使用色域和颜色滑块调整颜色时,不同颜色模型的数值会相应地进行调整。颜色滑块右侧的矩形区域中的上半部分将显示新的颜色,下半部分将显示原始颜色。在以下两种情况下将会出现警告:颜色不是 Web 安全颜色 或者颜色是色域之外的颜色

注意:

可以在“Adobe 拾色器”窗口的外部选取颜色。当您将指针移到文档窗口上时,指针会变成吸管工具。然后,您可以通过在图像中单击来选择颜色。选中的颜色将显示在 Adobe 拾色器中。在图像中单击,然后按住鼠标按钮移动,可将吸管工具移到桌面上的任何位置。可通过松开鼠标按钮来选择颜色。

使用 HSB 模型选取颜色

在使用 HSB 颜色模型时,色相在色域中以介于 0° 到 360° 之间的某个角度(对应于色轮上的某个位置)来指定。饱和度和亮度以百分比的形式来指定。在色域中,色相饱和度从左向右增加,而亮度从下往上增加。

  1. 在 Adobe 拾色器中,选择 H 选项并在 H 文本框中输入一个数值或在颜色滑块中选择一个色相。
  2. 可以通过在色域中单击并移动圆形标记,也可以通过在 S 文本框和 B 文本框中输入数值来调整饱和度和亮度。
  3. (可选)选择 S 选项或 B 选项可以在色域中显示颜色的饱和度或亮度,以便做出进一步的调整。

使用 RGB 模型选取颜色

通过指定红色、绿色和蓝色分量来选取颜色。

  1. 在 Adobe 拾色器的 R、G 和 B 文本框中输入数值。指定介于 0 和 255 之间的分量值(0 表示无色,255 表示纯色)。
  2. 要使用颜色滑块和色域对颜色进行可视化选取,请单击 R、G 或 B 文本框并调整颜色滑块和色域。

    您单击的颜色将在颜色滑块中显示,颜色滑块的底部和顶部的颜色分量值分别为 0(没有此颜色)和 255(此颜色的最大量)。色域将显示其它两个分量的范围:一个分量的范围在水平轴上显示;另一个分量的范围在垂直轴上显示。

使用 Lab 模型选取颜色

当基于 Lab 颜色模型选取颜色时,L 值用于指定颜色的明亮度。A 值用于指定颜色的红绿程度。B 值用于指定颜色的蓝黄程度。

  1. 在 Adobe 拾色器中,分别输入 L 的值(从 0 到 100)以及 A 和 B 的值(从 -128 到 +127)。
  2. (可选)使用颜色滑块或色域来调整颜色。

使用 CMYK 模型选取颜色

可以通过将每个分量值指定为青色、洋红色、黄色和黑色的百分比来选取颜色。

  1. 在 Adobe 拾色器中,通过输入 C、M、Y 和 K 的百分比值或使用颜色滑块和色域来选取颜色。

通过指定十六进制值来选取颜色

可以通过指定用于定义颜色中的 R、G 和 B 分量的十六进制值来选取颜色。这三对数字是用介于 00(最小明亮度)和 ff(最大明亮度)之间的值表示的。例如,000000 是黑色,ffffff 是白色,ff0000 是红色。

  1. 在 Adobe 拾色器的 # 文本框中输入十六进制值。

在绘画时选择颜色

提示型显示 (HUD) 拾色器可让您在文档窗口中绘画时快速选择颜色,其中的图像颜色便于您获取相关信息。

注意:

HUD 拾色器需要 OpenGL。(请参阅启用 OpenGL 和优化 GPU 设置。)

选择 HUD 拾色器的类型

  1. 选择“编辑”>“首选项”>“常规”(Windows),或者“Photoshop”>“首选项”>“常规”(Mac OS)。

  2. 在“HUD 拾色器”菜单中,选择“色相条纹”可显示垂直拾色器,选择“色相轮”则显示圆形拾色器。

从 HUD 拾色器中选择颜色

  1. 选择绘画工具。

  2. 按 Shift + Alt,并单击右键 (Windows),或按 Control + Option + Command (Mac OS)。

  3. 在文档窗口中单击以显示拾色器。然后拖动以选择颜色的色相和阴影。

    注意:

    在文档窗口中单击之后,您就可以释放按住的键了。在您选择其他色相时,临时按住空格键可保持选定的阴影,反之亦然。

Photoshop HUD 拾色器
使用 HUD 拾色器选择颜色

A. 阴影 B. 色相 

注意:

若要改为从图像中选择颜色,请按住 Alt 键(Windows) 或 Option 键(Mac OS) 来使用吸管工具。

选择 Web 安全颜色

Web 安全颜色是浏览器使用的 216 种颜色,与平台无关。在 8 位屏幕上显示颜色时,浏览器将图像中的所有颜色更改成这些颜色。216 种颜色是 Mac OS 的 8 位颜色调板的子集。只使用这些颜色时,准备的 Web 图片在 256 色的系统上绝对不会出现仿色。

在 Adobe 拾色器中选择 Web 安全颜色

  1. 选择 Adobe 拾色器左下角的“只有 Web 颜色”选项。选中此选项后,所拾取的任何颜色都是 Web 安全颜色。

将非 Web 颜色更改为 Web 安全颜色

如果选择非 Web 颜色,则在 Adobe 拾色器中的颜色框旁边会显示一个警告立方体

  1. 单击警告立方体以选择最接近的 Web 颜色。(如果未出现警告立方体,则表明所选的颜色是 Web 安全颜色。)

使用“颜色”面板选择 Web 安全颜色

  1. 单击“颜色”面板选项卡,或选取“窗口”>“颜色”,以查看“颜色”面板。
  2. 选取用于选择 Web 安全颜色的选项:
    • 从“颜色”面板菜单中选取“建立 Web 安全曲线”。选中此选项后,所拾取的任何颜色都是 Web 安全颜色。

    • 从“颜色”面板菜单中选取“Web 颜色滑块”。默认情况下,在拖动 Web 颜色滑块时,这些滑块会迅速定位 Web 安全颜色(由刻度指示)。如果不想选择 Web 安全颜色,请在拖动滑块时按住 Alt 键 (Windows) 或 Option 键 (Mac OS)。

    如果选取非 Web 颜色,则“颜色”面板左侧的四色曲线图上方会出现一个警告立方体 。单击警告立方体以选择最接近的 Web 颜色。

为不可打印的颜色选取 CMYK 等效值

RGB、HSB 和 Lab 颜色模型中的某些颜色无法打印,因为这些颜色在色域之外并且在 CMYK 模型中没有等效值。当在 Adobe 拾色器或“颜色”面板中选择不可打印的颜色时,将出现一个警告三角形。此三角形下方的色板将显示最接近的 CMYK 等效值。

注意:

在“颜色”面板中,如果正在使用 Web 颜色滑块,则警告三角形不可用。

  1. 要选取最接近的 CMYK 等效值,请在“拾色器”对话框或“颜色”面板中单击警告三角形

    可打印的颜色由“颜色设置”对话框中定义的当前 CMYK 工作空间决定。

选取专色

Adobe 拾色器可让您从 PANTONE MATCHING SYSTEM®、Trumatch® Swatching System™、Focoltone® 颜色系统、Toyo Color Finder™ 1050 系统、ANPA-Color™ 系统、HKS® 颜色系统和 DIC 颜色参考中选取颜色。

要确保最终的打印输出结果是所需的颜色,请咨询打印机或服务部门,并基于所打印的色板选取颜色。厂商建议每年更换新的色板库,以避免油墨褪色和其它损失。

注意:

除双色调外,Photoshop 能够以任何图像模式将专色打印到 CMYK(印刷色)色版。要打印真正的专色版,请创建专色通道。

  1. 打开 Adobe 拾色器并单击“颜色库”。

    “自定颜色”对话框显示与 Adobe 拾色器中当前选中的颜色最接近的颜色。

  2. 对于色库,选取颜色库。请参阅下列有关对颜色库的说明。
  3. 输入油墨量或沿滚动条拖动三角形,确定所需的颜色。
  4. 在列表中单击所需的补色。

专色库

Adobe 拾色器支持下列颜色系统:

ANPA-COLOR

通常应用于报纸。ANPA-COLOR ROP Newspaper Color Ink Book 包含 ANPA 颜色样本。

DIC 颜色参考

通常在日本用于印刷项目。有关更多信息,请与日本东京的 Dainippon Ink & Chemicals, Inc. 联系。

FOCOLTONE

由 763 种 CMYK 颜色组成。通过显示补偿颜色的压印,Focoltone 颜色有助于避免印前陷印和对齐问题。Focoltone 中有包含印刷色和专色规范的色板库、压印图表以及用于标记版面的雕版库。有关更多信息,请与英国 Stafford 的 Focoltone International, Ltd. 联系。

HKS 色板

在欧洲用于印刷项目。每种颜色都有指定的 CMYK 颜色。可以从 HKS E(适用于连续静物)、HKS K(适用于光面艺术纸)、HKS N(适用于天然纸)和 HKS Z(适用于新闻纸)中选择。颜色取样器对于每种比例都可用。HKS 印刷色标簿和色板已添加到颜色系统菜单中。

PANTONE®

颜色用于专色重现。PANTONE MATCHING SYSTEM 可以渲染 1,114 种颜色。PANTONE 颜色参考和样本簿会印在涂层、无涂层和哑面纸样上,以确保精确显示印刷结果并更好地进行印刷控制。可在 CMYK 下印刷 PANTONE 纯色。要将 PANTONE 纯色和与它最匹配的印刷色进行比较,请使用 PANTONE 纯色/印刷色参考。CMYK 屏幕色调百分比印刷在每种颜色下方。有关更多信息,请与新泽西州卡尔士达特的 Pantone, Inc. 联系 (www.pantone.com)。

TOYO Color Finder 1050

由基于日本最常用的印刷油墨的 1,000 多种颜色组成。TOYO Process Color Finder 色标簿和色板已添加到颜色系统菜单中。TOYO Color Finder 1050 Book 包含 Toyo 颜色的打印样本,可以从打印机和图片用品商店购得。有关更多信息,请与日本东京的 Toyo Ink Manufacturing Co., Ltd. 联系。

TRUMATCH

提供了可预测的 CMYK 颜色,与 2,000 多种可实现的、计算机生成的颜色相匹配。Trumatch 颜色包括偶数步长的 CMYK 色域的可见色谱。Trumatch 颜色能够为每个色相显示多达 40 种的色调和阴影,每种最初都是在四色印刷中创建的,并且可以在电子照排机上用四色重现。另外,还包括使用不同色相的四色灰色。有关更多信息,请与纽约的 Trumatch Inc. 联系。

本产品经 Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 Unported License 许可  Twitter™ 与 Facebook 中的内容不在 Creative Commons 的条款约束之下。

法律声明   |   在线隐私策略

About foreground and background colors

Photoshop uses the foreground color to paint, fill, and stroke selections and the background color to make gradient fills and fill in the erased areas of an image. The foreground and background colors are also used by some special effects filters.

You can designate a new foreground or background color using the Eyedropper tool, the Color panel, the Swatches panel, or the Adobe Color Picker.

The default foreground color is black, and the default background color is white. (In an alpha channel, the default foreground is white, and the background is black.)

Video Tip | Make a shortcut for the Color Picker

Video Tip | Make a shortcut for the Color Picker
Scott Kelby

Choose colors in the toolbox

The current foreground color appears in the upper color selection box in the toolbox; the current background color appears in the lower box.

Foreground and background color boxes in toolbox
Foreground and background color boxes in toolbox

A. Default Colors icon B. Switch Colors icon C. Foreground color box D. Background color box 
  • To change the foreground color, click the upper color selection box in the toolbox, and then choose a color in the Adobe Color Picker.
  • To change the background color, click the lower color selection box in the toolbox, and then choose a color in the Adobe Color Picker.
  • To reverse the foreground and background colors, click the Switch Colors icon in the toolbox.
  • To restore the default foreground and background colors, click the Default Colors icon in the toolbox.

Choose colors with the Eyedropper tool

The Eyedropper tool samples color to designate a new foreground or background color. You can sample from the active image or from anywhere else on the screen.

  1. Select the Eyedropper tool .
  2. In the options bar, change the sample size of the eyedropper by choosing an option from the Sample Size menu:

    Point Sample

    Reads the precise value of the pixel you click.

    3 by 3 Average, 5 by 5 Average, 11 by 11 Average, 31 by 31 Average, 51 by 51 Average, 101 by 101 Average

    Reads the average value of the specified number of pixels within the area you click.

    Photoshop Eyedropper tool
    Selecting a foreground color with the Eyedropper tool

  3. Choose one of the following from the Sample menu:

    All Layers

    Samples color from all layers in the document.

    Current Layer

    Samples color from the currently active layer.

  4. To circle the Eyedropper tool with a ring that previews the sampled color above the current foreground color, select Show Sampling Ring. (This option requires OpenGL. See Enable OpenGL and optimize GPU settings.)
  5. Do one of the following:
    • To select a new foreground color, click in the image. Alternatively, position the pointer over the image, press the mouse button, and drag anywhere on the screen. The foreground color selection box changes dynamically as you drag. Release the mouse button to pick the new color.

    • To select a new background color, Alt-click (Windows) or Option-click (Mac OS) in the image. Alternatively, position the pointer over the image, press Alt (Windows) or Options (Mac OS), press the mouse button, and drag anywhere on the screen. The background color selection box changes dynamically as you drag. Release the mouse button to pick the new color.

    Note:

    To use the Eyedropper tool temporarily to select a foreground color while using any painting tool, hold down Alt (Windows) or Option (Mac OS).

Adobe Color Picker overview

In the Adobe Color Picker, you choose colors using four color models: HSB, RGB, Lab, and CMYK. Use the Adobe Color Picker to set the foreground color, background color, and text color. You can also set target colors for different tools, commands, and options.

You can configure the Adobe Color Picker to let you choose only colors that are part of the web-safe palette or choose from specific color systems. You can also access an HDR (high dynamic range) picker to choose colors for use in HDR images.

The Color field in the Adobe Color Picker displays color components in HSB color mode, RGB color mode, and Lab color mode. If you know the numeric value of the color you want, you can enter it into the text fields. You can also use the color slider and the color field to preview a color to choose. As you adjust the color using the color field and color slider, the numeric values are adjusted accordingly. The color box to the right of the color slider displays the adjusted color in the top section and the original color in the bottom section. Alerts appear if the color is not a web-safe color   or is out of gamut  for printing (non-printable) .

Photoshop Color Picker
Adobe Color Picker

A. Picked color B. Original color C. Adjusted color D. Out-of-gamut alert icon E. Alert icon for color that is not web-safe F. Displays only web-safe colors G. Color field H. Color slider I. Color values 

Note:

When you select a color in the Adobe Color Picker, it simultaneously displays the numeric values for HSB, RGB, Lab, CMYK, and hexadecimal numbers. This is useful for viewing how the different color models describe a color.

Although Photoshop uses the Adobe Color Picker by default, you can use a different color picker than the Adobe Color Picker by setting a preference. For example, you can use the built-in color picker of your computer’s operating system or a third-party plug-in color picker.

Display the Color Picker

  • In the toolbox, click the foreground or background color selection box.
  • In the Color panel, click the Set Foreground Color or Set Background Color selection box.

    The Color Picker is also available when features let you choose a color. For example, by clicking the color swatch in the options bar for some tools, or the eyedroppers in some color adjustment dialog boxes.

Choose a color with the Adobe Color Picker

You can choose a color by entering color component values in HSB, RGB, and Lab text boxes, or by using the color slider and the color field.

To choose a color with the color slider and color field, click in the color slider or move the color slider triangle to set one color component. Then move the circular marker or click in the color field. This sets the other two color components.

As you adjust the color using the color field and color slider, the numeric values for the different color models adjust accordingly. The rectangle to the right of the color slider displays the new color in the top half and the original color in the bottom. Alerts appear if the color is not a web-safe color  or is out of gamut .

Note:

You can choose a color outside the Adobe Color Picker window. Moving the pointer over the document window changes it to the Eyedropper tool. You can then select a color by clicking in the image. The selected color is displayed in the Adobe Color Picker. You can move the Eyedropper tool anywhere on your desktop by clicking in the image and then holding down the mouse button. You can select a color by releasing the mouse button.

Choose a color using the HSB model

Using the HSB color model, the hue is specified in the color field, as an angle from 0° to 360° that corresponds to a location on the color wheel. Saturation and brightness are specified as percentages. In the color field, the hue saturation increases from left to right and the brightness increases from the bottom to top.

  1. In the Adobe Color Picker, select the H option and then enter a numeric value in the H text box or select a hue in the color slider.
  2. Adjust the saturation and brightness by clicking in the color field, moving the circular maker, or entering numeric values in the S and B text boxes.
  3. (Optional) Select either the S option or B option to display the color’s saturation or brightness in the color field for making further adjustments.

Choose a color using the RGB model

Choose a color by specifying its red, green, and blue components.

  1. In the Adobe Color Picker, enter numeric values in the R, G, and B text boxes. Specify component values from 0 to 255 (0 is no color, and 255 is the pure color).
  2. To visually select a color using the color slider and color field, click either R, G, or B and then adjust the slider and color field.

    The color you click appears in the color slider with 0 (none of that color) at the bottom and 255 (maximum amount of that color) at the top. The color field displays the range of the other two components, one on the horizontal axis and one on the vertical axis.

Choose a color using the Lab model

When choosing a color based on the Lab color model, the L value specifies the luminance of a color. The A value specifies how red or green a color is. The B value specifies how blue or yellow a color is.

  1. In the Adobe Color Picker, enter values for L (from 0 to 100), and for A and B (from ‑128 to +127).
  2. (Optional) Use the color slider or color field to adjust the color.

Choose a color using the CMYK model

You can choose a color by specifying each component value as a percentage of cyan, magenta, yellow, and black.

  • In the Adobe Color Picker, enter percentage values for C, M, Y, and K, or use the color slider and color field to choose a color.

Choose a color by specifying a hexadecimal value

You can choose a color by specifying a hexadecimal value that defines the R, G, and B components in a color. The three pairs of numbers are expressed in values from 00 (minimum luminance) to ff (maximum luminance). For example, 000000 is black, ffffff is white, and ff0000 is red.

  • In the Adobe Color Picker, enter a hexadecimal value in the # text box.

Choose a color while painting

The heads-up-display (HUD) color picker lets you quickly choose colors while painting in the document window, where image colors provide helpful context.

Note:

The HUD color picker requires OpenGL. (See Enable OpenGL and optimize GPU settings.)

Choose the type of HUD color picker

  1. Choose Edit > Preferences > General (Windows) or Photoshop > Preferences > General (Mac OS).

  2. From the HUD Color Picker menu, choose Hue Strip to display a vertical picker or Hue Wheel to display a circular one.

Choose a color from the HUD color picker

  1. Select a painting tool.

  2. Press Shift + Alt + right-click (Windows) or Control + Option + Command (Mac OS).

  3. Click in the document window to display the picker. Then drag to select a color hue and shade.

    Note:

    After clicking in the document window, you can release the pressed keys. Temporarily press the spacebar to maintain the selected shade while you select another hue, or vice versa.

Photoshop HUD picker
Choosing color with HUD picker

A. Shade B. Hue 

Note:

To instead select a color from the image, hold down Alt (Windows) or Option (Mac OS) to access the Eyedropper tool.

Choose web‑safe colors

The web‑safe colors are the 216 colors used by browsers regardless of the platform. The browser changes all colors in the image to these colors when displaying the image on an 8‑bit screen. The 216 colors are a subset of the Mac OS 8‑bit color palettes. By working only with these colors, you can be sure that art you prepare for the web will not dither on a system set to display 256 colors.

Select web‑safe colors in the Adobe Color Picker

  • Select the Only Web Colors option in the lower left corner of the Adobe Color Picker. Any color you pick with this option selected is web‑safe.

Change a non‑web color to a web‑safe color

If you select a non‑web color, an alert cube  appears next to the color rectangle in the Adobe Color Picker.

  • Click the alert cube to select the closest web color. (If no alert cube appears, the color you chose is web‑safe.)

Select a web‑safe color using the Color panel

  1. Click the Color panel tab, or choose Window > Color to view the Color panel.
  2. Choose an option for selecting a web‑safe color:
    • Choose Make Ramp Web Safe from the Color panel menu. Any color you pick with this option selected is web‑safe.

    • Choose Web Color Sliders from the Color panel menu. By default, web color sliders snap to web‑safe colors (indicated by tick marks) when you drag them. To override web‑safe color selection, Alt-drag (Windows) or Option-drag (Mac OS) the sliders.

    If you choose a non‑web color, an alert cube  appears above the color ramp on the left side of the Color panel. Click the alert cube to select the closest web color.

Choose a CMYK equivalent for a non-printable color

Some colors in the RGB, HSB, and Lab color models cannot be printed because they are out-of-gamut and have no equivalents in the CMYK model. When you choose a non-printable color in either the Adobe Color Picker or the Color panel, a warning alert triangle appears. A swatch below the triangle displays the closest CMYK equivalent.

Note:

In the Color panel, the alert triangle is not available if you are using Web Color Sliders.

  • To choose the closest CMYK equivalent, click the alert triangle  in the Color Picker dialog box or the Color panel.

    Printable colors are determined by the current CMYK working space defined in the Color Settings dialog box.

Choose a spot color

The Adobe Color Picker lets you choose colors from the PANTONE MATCHING SYSTEM®, the Trumatch® Swatching System™, the Focoltone® Colour System, the Toyo Color Finder™ 1050 system, the ANPA-Color™ system, the HKS® color system, and the DIC Color Guide.

To ensure that the final printed output is the color you want, consult your printer or service bureau and choose your color based on a printed color swatch. Manufacturers recommend that you get a new swatch book each year to compensate for fading inks and other damage.

Note:

Photoshop prints spot colors to CMYK (process color) plates in every image mode except Duotone. To print true spot color plates, create spot color channels.

  1. Open the Adobe Color Picker, and click Color Libraries.

    The Custom Colors dialog box displays the color closest to the color currently selected in the Adobe Color Picker.

  2. For Book, choose a color library. See below for descriptions of the color libraries.
  3. Locate the color you want by entering the ink number or by dragging the triangles along the scroll bar.
  4. Click the desired color patch in the list.

Spot color libraries

The Adobe Color Picker supports the following color systems:

ANPA-COLOR

Commonly used for newspaper applications. The ANPA-COLOR ROP Newspaper Color Ink Book contains samples of the ANPA colors.

DIC Color Guide

Commonly used for printing projects in Japan. For more information, contact Dainippon Ink & Chemicals, Inc., in Tokyo, Japan.

FOCOLTONE

Consists of 763 CMYK colors. Focoltone colors help avoid prepress trapping and registration problems by showing the overprints that make up the colors. A swatch book with specifications for process and spot colors, overprint charts, and a chip book for marking up layouts are available from Focoltone. For more information, contact Focoltone International, Ltd., in Stafford, United Kingdom.

HKS swatches

Used for printing projects in Europe. Each color has a specified CMYK equivalent. You can select from HKS E (for continuous stationery), HKS K (for gloss art paper), HKS N (for natural paper), and HKS Z (for newsprint). Color samplers for each scale are available. HKS Process books and swatches have been added to the color system menu.

PANTONE®

Colors used for spot-color reproduction. The PANTONE MATCHING SYSTEM can render 1,114 colors. PANTONE color guides and chip books are printed on coated, uncoated, and matte paper stocks to ensure accurate visualization of the printed result and better on-press control. You can print a solid PANTONE color in CMYK. To compare a solid PANTONE color to its closest process color match, use the PANTONE solid to process guide. The CMYK screen tint percentages are printed under each color. For more information, contact Pantone, Inc., Carlstadt, NJ (www.pantone.com).

TOYO Color Finder 1050

Consists of more than 1,000 colors based on the most common printing inks used in Japan. The TOYO Process Color Finder book and swatches have been added to the color system menu. The TOYO Color Finder 1050 Book contains printed samples of Toyo colors and is available from printers and graphic arts supply stores. For more information, contact Toyo Ink Manufacturing Co., Ltd., in Tokyo, Japan.

TRUMATCH

Provides predictable CMYK color matching with more than 2,000 achievable, computer-generated colors. Trumatch colors cover the visible spectrum of the CMYK gamut in even steps. The Trumatch Color displays up to 40 tints and shades of each hue, each originally created in four-color process and each reproducible in four colors on electronic imagesetters. In addition, four-color grays using different hues are included. For more information, contact Trumatch Inc., in New York City, New York.

This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 Unported License  Twitter™ and Facebook posts are not covered under the terms of Creative Commons.

Legal Notices   |   Online Privacy Policy