注意:

如果支持的文件格式未出现在相应的对话框或子菜单中,则可能需要安装该格式的增效工具模块。

选取文件格式

各种图形文件格式的不同之处在于表示图像数据的方式(作为像素还是矢量),并且它们支持不同的压缩方法和 Photoshop 功能。要保留所有 Photoshop 功能(图层、效果、蒙版等等),请以 Photoshop 格式 (PSD) 存储图像的备份。

与大多数文件格式一样,PSD 只能支持最大为 2 GB 的文件。对于大于 2 GB 的文件,以大型文档格式 (PSB)、Photoshop Raw(仅限拼合图像)、TIFF(最大为 4 GB)或 DICOM 格式存储。

图像的标准位深度是 8 位/通道。要在 16 位或 32 位图像中获得更大的动态范围,请使用以下格式:

用于 16 位图像的格式(需要“存储为”命令)

Photoshop、大型文档格式 (PSB)、Cineon、DICOM、IFF、JPEG、JPEG 2000、Photoshop PDF、Photoshop Raw、PNG、便携位图和 TIFF。

注意:

“存储为 Web 和设备所用格式”命令自动将 16 位图像转换为 8 位。

用于 32 位图像的格式(需要“存储为”命令)

Photoshop、大型文档格式 (PSB)、OpenEXR、便携位图、Radiance 和 TIFF。

关于文件压缩

许多文件格式使用压缩来减小位图图像的文件大小。无损 技术在不移去图像细节或颜色信息的情况下压缩文件;有损 技术则会移去细节。下面是常用的压缩方法:

RLE(行程长度编码)

无损压缩;某些常用的 Windows 文件格式支持此技术。

LZW (Lemple-Zif-Welch)

无损压缩;受 TIFF、PDF、GIF 和 PostScript 语言文件格式支持。对于包含大面积单色区域的图像最有用。

JPEG(联合图像专家组)

有损压缩;受 JPEG、TIFF、PDF 和 PostScript 语言文件格式支持。建议对连续色调图像(如照片)使用此压缩方法。JPEG 使用有损压缩。若要指定图像的品质,请从“品质”菜单中选取一个选项,拖动“品质”弹出式滑块,或在“品质”文本框中输入 0 至 12 之间的一个值。为了获得最好的打印效果,请选取最佳品质压缩。JPEG 文件只能在 Level 2(或更高)PostScript 打印机上打印,并且不能分成单独的图版。

CCITT

用于黑白图像的一系列无损压缩方法,受 PDF 和 PostScript 语言文件格式支持。(CCITT 是“国际电报和电报咨询委员会”(International Telegraph and Telekeyed Consultive Committee) 的法语拼写的缩写。)

ZIP

无损压缩;受 PDF 和 TIFF 文件格式支持。与 LZW 一样,ZIP 压缩对包含大块单色区域的图像非常有效。

最大兼容 PSD 和 PSB 文件

如果您在 Photoshop 的早期版本或不支持图层的应用程序中使用 PSD 和 PSB 文件,则可能需要将图像的拼合版本添加到已存储的文件中。

注意:

如果您在 Photoshop 的早期版本中存储图像,则会丢弃该版本不支持的功能。

  1. 选择“编辑”>“首选项”>“文件处理”(Windows) 或“Photoshop”>“首选项”>“文件处理”(Mac OS)。
  2. 从“最大兼容 PSD 和 PSB 文件”菜单中选取以下任一项:

    总是

    将与文档的图层一起存储复合(拼合)图像。

    询问

    在存储时询问是否保持最大程度的兼容性。

    从不

    仅存储分层图像。

    注意:

    如果您要极大地降低文件大小,请选择“询问”或“从不”。

Photoshop 格式 (PSD)

Photoshop 格式 (PSD) 是默认的文件格式,而且是除大型文档格式 (PSB) 之外支持所有 Photoshop 功能的唯一格式。由于 Adobe 产品之间是紧密集成的,因此其它 Adobe 应用程序(如 Adobe Illustrator、Adobe InDesign、Adobe Premiere、Adobe After Effects 和 Adobe GoLive)可以直接导入 PSD 文件并保留许多 Photoshop 功能。有关更多信息,请参阅特定 Adobe 应用程序的“帮助”。

存储 PSD 时,您可以设置首选项以最大程度地提高文件兼容性。这样将会在文件中存储一个带图层图像的复合版本,因此其它应用程序(包括 Photoshop 以前的版本)将能够读取该文件。同时,即使将来的 Photoshop 版本更改某些功能的行为,它也可以保持文档的外观。此外,通过包含复合图像,可以在 Photoshop 以外的应用程序中更快速地载入和使用图像,有时为使图像在其他应用程序中可读还必须包含复合图像。

可以将 16 位/通道的图像和高动态范围 (HDR) 32 位/通道的图像存储为 PSD 文件。

Photoshop 2.0 格式

(Mac OS) 可以使用此格式在 Photoshop 2.0 中打开图像,或将图像导出到仅支持 Photoshop 2.0 文件的应用程序中。以 Photoshop 2.0 格式存储将拼合图像并扔掉图层信息。

Photoshop DCS 1.0 和 2.0 格式

桌面分色 (DCS) 格式是标准 EPS 格式的一个版本,可以存储 CMYK 图像的分色。使用 DCS 2.0 格式可以导出包含专色通道的图像。若要打印 DCS 文件,必须使用 PostScript 打印机。

Photoshop EPS 格式

内嵌式 Postscript (EPS) 语言文件格式可以同时包含矢量图形和位图图形,并且几乎所有的图形、图表和页面排版程序都支持该格式。EPS 格式用于在应用程序之间传递 PostScript 图片。当打开包含矢量图形的 EPS 文件时,Photoshop 栅格化图像,并将矢量图形转换为像素。

EPS 格式支持 Lab、CMYK、RGB、索引颜色、双色调、灰度和位图颜色模式,但不支持 Alpha 通道。EPS 确实支持剪贴路径。桌面分色 (DCS) 格式是标准 EPS 格式的一个版本,可以存储 CMYK 图像的分色。使用 DCS 2.0 格式可以导出包含专色通道的图像。要打印 EPS 文件,必须使用 PostScript 打印机。

Photoshop 使用 EPS TIFF 和 EPS PICT 格式,以允许您打开以创建预览时使用的、但不受 Photoshop 支持的文件格式(如 QuarkXPress)所存储的图像。您可以编辑和使用打开的预览图像,就像任何其它低分辨率文件一样。EPS PICT 预览只适用于 Mac OS。

注意:

EPS TIFF 格式和 EPS PICT 格式在 Photoshop 的早期版本中所起的作用更大。Photoshop 的当前版本包括用于打开包含矢量数据的文件的栅格化功能。

Photoshop Raw 格式

Photoshop Raw 格式是一种灵活的文件格式,用于在应用程序与计算机平台之间传递图像。这种格式支持具有 Alpha 通道的 CMYK、RGB 和灰度图像以及无 Alpha 通道的多通道和 Lab 图像。以 Photoshop Raw 格式存储的文档可为任意像素大小或文件大小,但不能包含图层。

Photoshop Raw 格式由一串描述图像中颜色信息的字节构成。每个像素都以二进制格式描述,0 代表黑色,255 代表白色(对于具有 16 位通道的图像,白色值为 65535)。Photoshop 指定描述图像所需的通道数以及图像中的任何其它通道。可以指定文件扩展名 (Windows)、文件类型 (Mac OS)、文件创建程序 (Mac OS) 和标头信息。

在 Mac OS 中,文件类型通常是一个用于标识文件的四字符 ID。例如,TEXT 将文件标识为 ASCII 文本文件。文件创建程序通常也是一个四字符 ID。大多数 Mac OS 应用程序都有一个向 Apple Computer Developer Services 组注册的、唯一的创建程序 ID。

头参数指定在实际的图像信息开始之前,文件中显示的信息字节数。该值决定了作为占位符插入到文件开头的 0 的数目。默认情况下没有头(头大小 = 0)。以 Raw 格式打开文件时可以输入头。也可以存储没有标头的文件,然后使用文件编辑程序(如 HEdit (Windows) 或 Norton Utilities® (Mac OS))以使用标头信息替换数字零。

可以用隔行或非隔行格式存储图像。如果选择隔行格式,颜色值(如红、绿和蓝)按顺序存储。选择哪种格式取决于将打开文件的应用程序的要求。

注意:

Photoshop Raw 图像采用的文件格式与数码相机中的相机原始图像文件不同。相机原始图像文件采用的是特定于相机的专用格式,该格式本质是一个不带过滤、白平衡调整或其它相机内处理的“数码负片”。

数字负片格式 (DNG)

数字负片 (DNG) 是一种文件格式,它包含数码相机中的原始图像数据以及定义数据含义的元数据。设计 DNG(Adobe 针对相机原始文件公开提供的存档格式)的目的在于:提供兼容性,并减轻目前相机原始文件格式过于分散的状况。Camera Raw 增效工具可以使用 DNG 格式来存储相机原始图像数据。有关数字负片 (DNG) 文件格式的详细信息,请访问 www.adobe.com/cn 并搜索词条“数字负片”。您将找到全面的信息以及一个指向用户论坛的链接。

BMP 格式

BMP 是 Windows 兼容计算机上的标准 Windows 图像格式。BMP 格式支持 RGB、索引颜色、灰度和位图颜色模式。可以指定 Windows 或 OS/2 格式和 8 位/通道的位深度。对于使用 Windows 格式的 4 位和 8 位图像,还可以指定 RLE 压缩。

BMP 图像通常是自下而上编写出;但您也可以选择“翻转行序”选项,自上而下编写。您还可以单击“高级模式”选择其它编码方法(“翻转行序”和“高级模式”对于游戏程序员和其他使用 DirectX 的人员而言最为有用)。

Cineon 格式

Cineon 是由 Kodak 开发的,它是一种适合于电子复合、操纵和增强的 10 位/通道数字格式。使用 Cineon 格式可以在不损失图像品质的情况下输出回胶片。此格式在 Cineon Digital Film System 中使用,该系统将源于胶片的图像转换为 Cineon 格式,再输出回胶片。

DICOM 格式

DICOM(医学数字成像和通信)格式通常用于传输和存储医学影像,如超声波和扫描图像。DICOM 文件包含图像数据和标头,其中存储了有关病人和医学影像的信息。

GIF

图形交换格式 (GIF) 是指通常用于显示 HTML 文档中的索引颜色图形和图像的文件格式。GIF 是一种用 LZW 压缩的格式,目的在于最小化文件大小和电子传输时间。GIF 格式保留索引颜色图像中的透明度,但不支持 Alpha 通道。

IFF

IFF(交换文件格式)是一种通用的数据存储格式,可以关联和存储多种类型的数据。IFF 是一种便携格式,它具有支持静止图片、声音、音乐、视频和文本数据的多种扩展名。IFF 格式包括 Maya IFF 和 IFF(以前为 Amiga IFF)。

JPEG 格式

联合图像专家组 (JPEG) 格式通常用于显示 HTML 文档中的照片和其他连续色调图像。JPEG 格式支持 CMYK、RGB 和灰度颜色模式,但不支持透明度。与 GIF 格式不同,JPEG 保留 RGB 图像中的所有颜色信息,但通过有选择地扔掉数据来压缩文件大小。

JPEG 图像在打开时自动解压缩。压缩级别越高,得到的图像品质越低;压缩级别越低,得到的图像品质越高。在大多数情况下,“最佳”品质选项产生的结果与原图像几乎无分别。

大型文档格式 (PSB)

大型文档格式 (PSB) 支持宽度或高度最大为 300,000 像素的文档。支持所有 Photoshop 功能(如图层、效果和滤镜)。(对于宽度或高度超过 30,000 像素的文档,某些增效滤镜不可用。)

可以将 HDR 32 位/通道的图像存储为 PSB 文件。

注意:

其它大多数应用程序和旧版本的 Photoshop 无法支持文件大小超过 2 GB 的文档。

OpenEXR 格式

OpenEXR (EXR) 是视觉效果行业使用的一种文件格式,适用于 HDR 图像。该胶片格式具有适合用于电影制作的颜色高保真度和动态范围。OpenEXR 由 Industrial Light and Magic 开发,支持多种无损或有损压缩方法。OpenEXR 文件支持透明度,并且只适用于 32 位/通道的图像;该文件格式将值存储为 16 位/通道的浮点。

PDF

便携文档格式 (PDF) 是一种灵活的、跨平台、跨应用程序的文件格式。基于 PostScript 成像模型,PDF 文件精确地显示并保留字体、页面版式以及矢量和位图图形。另外,PDF 文件可以包含电子文档搜索和导航功能(如电子链接)。PDF 支持 16 位/通道的图像。Adobe Acrobat 还有一个 Touch Up Object 工具,用于对 PDF 中的图像进行较小的编辑。有关在 PDF 中使用图像的更多信息,请参阅 Acrobat 帮助

注意:

Touch Up Object 工具主要用于对图像和对象的最后修订。最好先在 Photoshop 中对图像进行编辑,然后再将其存储为 PDF。

Photoshop 可识别两种类型的 PDF 文件:

Photoshop PDF 文件

是在“存储 Adobe PDF”对话框中选择“保留 Photoshop 编辑功能”时创建的。Photoshop PDF 文件只能包含一个图像。

Photoshop PDF 格式支持标准 Photoshop 格式所支持的所有颜色模式(多通道模式除外)和功能。Photoshop PDF 还支持 JPEG 和 ZIP 压缩,但使用 CCITT Group 4 压缩方法的位图模式图像除外。

标准 PDF 文件

是在“存储 Adobe PDF”对话框中取消选择“保留 Photoshop 编辑功能”时,或使用其他应用程序(例如 Adobe Acrobat 或 Illustrator)创建的。标准 PDF 文件可以包含多个页面和图像。

在您打开标准 PDF 文件时,Photoshop 会将矢量和文本内容栅格化,同时保留像素内容。

PICT 文件

PICT 格式在 Mac OS 图形和页面排版应用程序中用作在应用程序之间传递图像的中间文件格式。PICT 格式支持具有单个 Alpha 通道的 RGB 图像,以及没有 Alpha 通道的索引颜色、灰度和位图模式的图像。

注意:

尽管 Photoshop 可以打开栅格化 PICT 文件,但它无法打开 QuickDraw PICT 或存储为 PICT 格式。

PICT 资源

(Mac OS) PICT 资源是一个 PICT 文件,但具有一个名称和资源 ID 编号。“PICT 资源”格式支持具有单个 Alpha 通道的 RGB 图像,以及没有 Alpha 通道的索引颜色、灰度和位图模式的图像。

可以使用“导入”命令或“打开”命令打开 PICT 资源。但是,Photoshop 无法存储为此格式。

Pixar 格式

Pixar 格式是专为高端图形应用程序(如用于渲染三维图像和动画的应用程序)设计的。Pixar 格式支持具有单个 Alpha 通道的 RGB 和灰度图像。

PNG 格式

便携网络图形 (PNG) 格式是作为 GIF 的无专利替代品开发的,用于无损压缩和在 Web 上显示图像。与 GIF 不同,PNG 支持 24 位图像并产生无锯齿状边缘的背景透明度;但是,某些 Web 浏览器不支持 PNG 图像。PNG 格式支持无 Alpha 通道的 RGB、索引颜色、灰度和位图模式的图像。PNG 保留灰度和 RGB 图像中的透明度。

便携位图格式

便携位图 (PBM) 文件格式(也称为“便携位图库”和“便携二进制图”)支持单色位图(1 位/像素)。该格式可用于无损数据传输,因为许多应用程序都支持此格式。您甚至可以在简单的文本编辑器中编辑或创建此类文件。

便携位图格式充当一系列很多位图转换滤镜(包括 Portable FloatMap (PFM)、Portable Graymap (PGM)、Portable Pixmap (PPM) 和 Portable Anymap (PNM))的公用语言。尽管 PBM 文件格式存储单色位图,但 PGM 还可以另外存储灰度位图,而 PPM 还可以存储彩色位图。PNM 本身并不是一种不同的文件格式,但 PNM 文件可以包含 PBM、PGM 或 PPM 文件。PFM 是一种浮点图像格式,可用于 32 位/通道 HDR 文件。

Radiance 格式

Radiance (HDR) 是一种 32 位/通道文件格式,适用于 HDR 图像。此格式最初是针对 Radiance 系统(一种用于在虚拟环境中显现光照的专业工具)开发的。该文件格式会存储每个像素的光量,而不是只存储要在屏幕上显示的颜色。Radiance 格式提供的明度级别比 8 位/通道图像文件格式中的 256 级要高很多。Radiance (HDR) 文件通常在 3D 建模中使用。

Scitex CT

Scitex“连续色调”(CT) 格式用于 Scitex 计算机上的高端图像处理。请与 Creo 联系,以获得将以 Scitex CT 格式存储的文件传输到 Scitex 系统的实用程序。Scitex CT 格式支持 CMYK、RGB 和灰度图像,但不支持 Alpha 通道。

以 Scitex CT 格式存储的 CMYK 图像文件通常都非常大。这些文件通过 Scitex 扫描仪生成用以输入。以 Scitex CT 格式存储的图像使用 Scitex 栅格化单元打印到胶片,而 Scitex 栅格化单元使用获得专利的 Scitex 半调系统产生分色。此系统产生的波纹图案非常少,在专业的色彩作品(如杂志广告)中经常需要使用这种系统。

TIFF

标记图像文件格式(TIFF、TIF)用于在应用程序和计算机平台之间交换文件。TIFF 是一种灵活的位图图像格式,受几乎所有的绘画、图像编辑和页面排版应用程序的支持。而且,几乎所有的桌面扫描仪都可以产生 TIFF 图像。TIFF 文档的最大文件大小可达 4 GB。

TIFF 格式支持具有 Alpha 通道的 CMYK、RGB、Lab、索引颜色和灰度图像,以及没有 Alpha 通道的位图模式图像。Photoshop 可以在 TIFF 文件中存储图层;但是,如果在另一个应用程序中打开该文件,则只有拼合图像是可见的。Photoshop 也能够以 TIFF 格式存储注释、透明度和多分辨率金字塔数据。

在 Photoshop 中,TIFF 图像文件的位深度为 8 位、16 位或 32 位/通道。可以将 HDR 图像存储为 32 位/通道 TIFF 文件。

WBMP 格式

WBMP 格式是用于优化移动设备(如移动电话)图像的标准格式。WBMP 支持 1 位颜色,意即 WBMP 图像只包含黑色和白色像素。

本产品经 Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 Unported License 许可  Twitter™ 与 Facebook 中的内容不在 Creative Commons 的条款约束之下。

法律声明   |   在线隐私策略

Note:

If a supported file format does not appear in the appropriate dialog box or submenu, you may need to install the format’s plug-in module.

Choosing a file format

Graphics file formats differ in the way they represent image data (as pixels or vectors), and support different compression techniques and Photoshop features. To preserve all Photoshop features (layers, effects, masks, and so on), save a copy of your image in Photoshop format (PSD).

Like most file formats, PSD supports files up to 2 GB in size. For files larger than 2 GB, save in Large Document Format (PSB), Photoshop Raw (flattened image only), TIFF (up to 4 GB), or DICOM format.

The standard bit depth for images is 8 bits per channel. To achieve greater dynamic range with 16- or 32-bit images, use the following formats:

Formats for 16-bit images (requires Save As command)

Photoshop, Large Document Format (PSB), Cineon, DICOM, IFF, JPEG, JPEG 2000, Photoshop PDF, Photoshop Raw, PNG, Portable Bit Map, and TIFF.

Note:

The Save For Web & Devices command automatically converts 16-bit images to 8-bit.

Formats for 32-bit images (requires Save As command)

Photoshop, Large Document Format (PSB), OpenEXR, Portable Bitmap, Radiance, and TIFF.

About file compression

Many file formats use compression to reduce the file size of bitmap images. Lossless techniques compress the file without removing image detail or color information; lossy techniques remove detail. The following are commonly used compression techniques:

RLE (Run Length Encoding)

Lossless compression; supported by some common Windows file formats.

LZW (Lemple-Zif-Welch)

Lossless compression; supported by TIFF, PDF, GIF, and PostScript language file formats. Most useful for images with large areas of single color.

JPEG (Joint Photographic Experts Group)

Lossy compression; supported by JPEG, TIFF, PDF, and PostScript language file formats. Recommended for continuous-tone images, such as photographs. JPEG uses lossy compression. To specify image quality, choose an option from the Quality menu, drag the Quality pop‑up slider, or enter a value between 0 and 12 in the Quality text box. For the best printed results, choose maximum-quality compression. JPEG files can be printed only on Level 2 (or later) PostScript printers and may not separate into individual plates.

CCITT

A family of lossless compression techniques for black-and-white images, supported by the PDF and PostScript language file formats. (CCITT is an abbreviation for the French spelling of International Telegraph and Telekeyed Consultive Committee.)

ZIP

Lossless compression; supported by PDF and TIFF file formats. Like LZW, ZIP compression is most effective for images that contain large areas of single color.

Maximize compatibility for PSD and PSB files

If you work with PSD and PSB files in older versions of Photoshop or applications that don’t support layers, you can add a flattened version of the image to the saved file.

Note:

If you save an image in an earlier version of Photoshop, features that version doesn’t support are discarded.

  1. Choose Edit > Preferences > File Handling (Windows) or Photoshop > Preferences > File Handling (Mac OS).
  2. From the Maximize PSD and PSB File Compatibility menu, choose any of the following:

    Always

    Saves a composite (flattened) image along with the layers of your document.

    Ask

    Asks whether to maximize compatibility when you save.

    Never

    Saves only a layered image.

    Note:

    Choose Ask or Never if you want to significantly reduce file size.

Photoshop format (PSD)

Photoshop format (PSD) is the default file format and the only format, besides the Large Document Format (PSB), that supports all Photoshop features. Because of the tight integration between Adobe products, other Adobe applications, such as Adobe Illustrator, Adobe InDesign, Adobe Premiere, Adobe After Effects, and Adobe GoLive, can directly import PSD files and preserve many Photoshop features. For more information, see Help for the specific Adobe applications.

When saving a PSD, you can set a preference to maximize file compatibility. This saves a composite version of a layered image in the file so it can be read by other applications, including previous versions of Photoshop. It also maintains the appearance of the document, just in case future versions of Photoshop change the behavior of some features. Including the composite also makes the image much faster to load and use in applications other than Photoshop, and may sometimes be required to make the image readable in other applications.

You can save 16-bits-per-channel and high dynamic range (HDR) 32-bits-per-channel images as PSD files.

Photoshop 2.0 format

(Mac OS) You can use this format to open an image in Photoshop 2.0 or to export an image to an application supporting only Photoshop 2.0 files. Saving in Photoshop 2.0 format flattens your image and discards layer information.

Photoshop DCS 1.0 and 2.0 formats

Desktop Color Separations (DCS) format is a version of the standard EPS format that lets you save color separations of CMYK images. You can use DCS 2.0 format to export images containing spot channels. To print DCS files, you must use a PostScript printer.

Photoshop EPS format

Encapsulated PostScript (EPS) language file format can contain both vector and bitmap graphics and is supported by virtually all graphics, illustration, and page-layout programs. EPS format is used to transfer PostScript artwork between applications. When you open an EPS file containing vector graphics, Photoshop rasterizes the image, converting the vector graphics to pixels.

EPS format supports Lab, CMYK, RGB, Indexed Color, Duotone, Grayscale, and Bitmap color modes, and does not support alpha channels. EPS does support clipping paths. Desktop Color Separations (DCS) format, a version of the standard EPS format, lets you save color separations of CMYK images. You use DCS 2.0 format to export images containing spot channels. To print EPS files, you must use a PostScript printer.

Photoshop uses the EPS TIFF and EPS PICT formats to let you open images saved in file formats that create previews but are not supported by Photoshop (such as QuarkXPress). You can edit and use an opened preview image just as any other low-resolution file. An EPS PICT preview is available only in Mac OS.

Note:

EPS TIFF format and EPS PICT format are more relevant to earlier versions of Photoshop. The current version of Photoshop includes rasterization features for opening files that include vector data.

Photoshop Raw format

The Photoshop Raw format is a flexible file format for transferring images between applications and computer platforms. This format supports CMYK, RGB, and grayscale images with alpha channels, and multichannel and Lab images without alpha channels. Documents saved in the Photoshop Raw format can be of any pixel or file size, but they cannot contain layers.

The Photoshop Raw format consists of a stream of bytes describing the color information in the image. Each pixel is described in binary format, with 0 representing black and 255 white (for images with 16‑bit channels, the white value is 65535). Photoshop designates the number of channels needed to describe the image, plus any additional channels in the image. You can specify the file extension (Windows), file type (Mac OS), file creator (Mac OS), and header information.

In Mac OS, the file type is generally a four-character ID that identifies the file—for example, TEXT identifies the file as an ASCII text file. The file creator is also generally a four-character ID. Most Mac OS applications have a unique file creator ID that is registered with the Apple Computer Developer Services group.

The Header parameter specifies how many bytes of information appear in the file before actual image information begins. This value determines the number of zeroes inserted at the beginning of the file as placeholders. By default, there is no header (header size = 0). You can enter a header when you open the file in Raw format. You can also save the file without a header and then use a file-editing program, such as HEdit (Windows) or Norton Utilities (Mac OS), to replace the zeroes with header information.

You can save the image in an interleaved or non-interleaved format. If you choose interleaved, the color values (red, green, and blue, for example) are stored sequentially. Your choice depends on requirements of the application that will open the file.

Note:

A Photoshop Raw image is not in the same file format as a camera raw image file from a digital camera. A camera raw image file is in a camera-specific proprietary format that is essentially a “digital negative,” with no filtering, white balance adjustments, or other in-camera processing.

Digital Negative format (DNG)

Digital Negative (DNG) is a file format that contains the raw image data from a digital camera and metadata that defines what the data means. DNG, Adobe’s publicly available, archival format for camera raw files, is designed to provide compatibility and decrease the current proliferation of camera raw file formats. The Camera Raw plug‑in can save camera raw image data in the DNG format. For more information about the Digital Negative (DNG) file format, visit www.adobe.com and search for the term “Digital Negative.” You’ll find comprehensive information and a link to a user forum.

BMP format

BMP is a standard Windows image format on Windows-compatible computers. BMP format supports RGB, Indexed Color, Grayscale, and Bitmap color modes. You can specify either Windows or OS/2 format and a bit depth of 8 bits/channel. For 4‑bit and 8‑bit images using Windows format, you can also specify RLE compression.

BMP images are normally written bottom to top; however, you can select the Flip Row Order option to write them from top to bottom. You can also select an alternate encoding method by clicking Advanced Modes. (Flip Row Order and Advanced Modes are most relevant to game programmers and others using DirectX.)

Cineon format

Developed by Kodak, Cineon is a 10‑bits-per-channel digital format suitable for electronic composition, manipulation, and enhancement. Using the Cineon format, you can output back to film with no loss of image quality. The format is used in the Cineon Digital Film System, which transfers images originated on film to the Cineon format and back to film.

DICOM format

The DICOM (Digital Imaging and Communications in Medicine) format is commonly used for the transfer and storage of medical images, such as ultrasounds and scans. DICOM files contain both image data and headers, which store information about the patient and the medical image.

GIF

Graphics Interchange Format (GIF) is the file format commonly used to display indexed-color graphics and images in HTML documents. GIF is an LZW-compressed format designed to minimize file size and electronic transfer time. GIF format preserves transparency in indexed-color images; however, it does not support alpha channels.

IFF

IFF (Interchange File Format) is a general-purpose data storage format that can associate and store multiple types of data. IFF is portable and has extensions that support still-picture, sound, music, video, and textual data. The IFF format includes Maya IFF and IFF (formerly Amiga IFF).

JPEG format

Joint Photographic Experts Group (JPEG) format is commonly used to display photographs and other continuous-tone images in HTML documents. JPEG format supports CMYK, RGB, and Grayscale color modes, and does not support transparency. Unlike GIF format, JPEG retains all color information in an RGB image but compresses file size by selectively discarding data.

A JPEG image is automatically decompressed when opened. A higher level of compression results in lower image quality, and a lower level of compression results in better image quality. In most cases, the Maximum quality option produces a result indistinguishable from the original.

Large Document Format (PSB)

The Large Document Format (PSB) supports documents up to 300,000 pixels in any dimension. All Photoshop features, such as layers, effects, and filters, are supported. (With documents larger than 30,000 pixels in width or height, some plug-in filters are unavailable.)

You can save HDR, 32-bits-per-channel images as PSB files.

Note:

Most other applications and older versions of Photoshop cannot support documents with file sizes larger than 2 GB.

OpenEXR format

OpenEXR (EXR) is a file format used by the visual effects industry for HDR images. The film format has high color fidelity and a dynamic range suitable for use in motion picture production. Developed by Industrial Light and Magic, OpenEXR supports multiple lossless or lossy compression methods. An OpenEXR file supports transparency and works only with 32 bits/channel images; the file format stores the values as 16 bits/channel floating point.

PDF

Portable Document Format (PDF) is a flexible, cross-platform, cross-application file format. Based on the PostScript imaging model, PDF files accurately display and preserve fonts, page layouts, and both vector and bitmap graphics. In addition, PDF files can contain electronic document search and navigation features such as electronic links. PDF supports 16‑bits-per-channel images. Adobe Acrobat also has a Touch Up Object tool for minor editing of images in a PDF. For more information about working with images in PDFs, see Acrobat Help.

Note:

The Touch Up Object tool is mainly for last-minute revisions to images and objects. It’s best to do image editing in Photoshop before saving as PDF.

Photoshop recognizes two types of PDF files:

Photoshop PDF files

Created when Preserve Photoshop Editing Capabilities is selected in the Save Adobe PDF dialog box. Photoshop PDF files can contain only a single image.

Photoshop PDF format supports all color modes (except Multichannel) and features that are supported in standard Photoshop format. Photoshop PDF also supports JPEG and ZIP compression, except for Bitmap-mode images, which use CCITT Group 4 compression.

Standard PDF files

Created when Preserve Photoshop Editing Capabilities is deselected in the Save Adobe PDF dialog box, or by using another application such as Adobe Acrobat or Illustrator. Standard PDF files can contain multiple pages and images.

When you open a standard PDF file, Photoshop rasterizes vector and text content, while preserving pixel content.

PICT File

PICT format is used in Mac OS graphics and page-layout applications as an intermediary file format for transferring images between applications. PICT format supports RGB images with a single alpha channel and Indexed Color, Grayscale, and Bitmap mode images without alpha channels.

Note:

Though Photoshop can open raster PICT files, it cannot open QuickDraw PICTs or save to PICT format.

PICT Resource

(Mac OS) A PICT resource is a PICT file but takes a name and resource ID number. The PICT Resource format supports RGB images with a single alpha channel, and Indexed Color, Grayscale, and Bitmap mode images without alpha channels.

You can use the Import command or the Open command to open a PICT resource. However, Photoshop cannot save to this format.

Pixar format

The Pixar format is designed specifically for high-end graphics applications, such as those used for rendering three-dimensional images and animation. Pixar format supports RGB and grayscale images with a single alpha channel.

PNG format

Developed as a patent-free alternative to GIF, Portable Network Graphics (PNG) format is used for lossless compression and for display of images on the web. Unlike GIF, PNG supports 24‑bit images and produces background transparency without jagged edges; however, some web browsers do not support PNG images. PNG format supports RGB, Indexed Color, Grayscale, and Bitmap mode images without alpha channels. PNG preserves transparency in grayscale and RGB images.

Portable Bit Map format

The Portable Bit Map (PBM) file format, also known as Portable Bitmap Library and Portable Binary Map, supports monochrome bitmaps (1 bit per pixel). The format can be used for lossless data transfer because many applications support this format. You can even edit or create such files within a simple text editor.

The Portable Bit Map format serves as the common language of a large family of bitmap conversion filters including Portable FloatMap (PFM), Portable Graymap (PGM), Portable Pixmap (PPM), and Portable Anymap (PNM). While the PBM file format stores monochrome bitmaps, PGM additionally stores grayscale bitmaps, and PPM can also store color bitmaps. PNM is not a different file format in itself, but a PNM file can hold PBM, PGM, or PPM files. PFM is a floating-point image format that can be used for 32‑bits-per-channel HDR files.

Radiance format

Radiance (HDR) is a 32‑bits-per-channel file format used for HDR images. This format was originally developed for the Radiance system, a professional tool for visualizing lighting in virtual environments. The file format stores the quantity of light per pixel instead of just the colors to be displayed onscreen. The levels of luminosity accommodated by the Radiance format are far higher than the 256 levels in 8‑bits-per-channel image file formats. Radiance (HDR) files are often used in 3D modeling.

Scitex CT

Scitex Continuous Tone (CT) format is used for high-end image processing on Scitex computers. Contact Creo to obtain utilities for transferring files saved in Scitex CT format to a Scitex system. Scitex CT format supports CMYK, RGB, and grayscale images and does not support alpha channels.

CMYK images saved in Scitex CT format often have extremely large file sizes. These files are generated for input using a Scitex scanner. Images saved in Scitex CT format are printed to film using a Scitex rasterizing unit, which produces separations using a patented Scitex halftoning system. This system produces very few moiré patterns and is often demanded in professional color work—for example, ads in magazines.

TIFF

Tagged-Image File Format (TIFF, TIF) is used to exchange files between applications and computer platforms. TIFF is a flexible bitmap image format supported by virtually all paint, image-editing, and page-layout applications. Also, virtually all desktop scanners can produce TIFF images. TIFF documents have a maximum file size of 4 GB.

TIFF format supports CMYK, RGB, Lab, Indexed Color, and Grayscale images with alpha channels and Bitmap mode images without alpha channels. Photoshop can save layers in a TIFF file; however, if you open the file in another application, only the flattened image is visible. Photoshop can also save notes, transparency, and multiresolution pyramid data in TIFF format.

In Photoshop, TIFF image files have a bit depth of 8, 16, or 32 bits per channel. You can save HDR images as 32‑bits-per-channel TIFF files.

WBMP format

WBMP format is the standard format for optimizing images for mobile devices, such as cell phones. WBMP supports 1‑bit color, which means that WBMP images contain only black and white pixels.

This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 Unported License  Twitter™ and Facebook posts are not covered under the terms of Creative Commons.

Legal Notices   |   Online Privacy Policy