字体

关于字体

字体

字体就是具有同样粗细、宽度和样式的一组字符(包括字母、数字和符号)所形成的完整集合,如 10 点 Adobe Garamond 粗体。

字样

字样(也称为文字系列字体系列)是由具有相同的整体外观的字体形成的集合,专为一同使用而设计,如 Adobe Garamond。除了可在键盘上看到的字符之外,字样还包括许多字符。根据字体的不同,这些字符可能包括连字、分数字、花饰字、装饰字、序数字、标题和文体替代字、上标和下标字符、变高数字和全高数字。

字形

字形是特殊形式的字符。例如,在某些字体中,大写字母 A 有多种形式,如花体字和小型大写字母。

字体样式

字体样式是字体系列中单个字体的变体。通常,字体系列的罗马体普通(实际名称将因字体系列而异)是基本字体,其中可能包括一些文字样式,如常规、粗体、半粗体、斜体和粗体斜体。如果某一字体不包括所需的样式,则可以应用仿样式 — 粗体、斜体、上标、下标、全部大写字母以及小型大写字母的模拟版本。

要使字体可用于 Photoshop 和其他 Adobe Creative Cloud 应用程序,请参阅激活计算机上的字体

自动激活字体

在 Photoshop 21.2(2020 年 6 月版)中引入

如果您打开的文档中包含计算机上未安装的字体,则 Photoshop 会在您连接到 Internet 时,自动从 Adobe Fonts 中提取并激活这些缺失字体。 

自动激活 Adobe 字体

打开包含文字图层的文档时,图层面板中的某些文字图层上可能会显示一个蓝色同步图标,指示从 Adobe Fonts 中自动激活缺失字体。下载完成时,同步图标将替换为标准的文字图层图标。现在,您可以在文档中以及计算机上的其他应用程序中使用激活的字体。

当字体激活正在进行时,如果尝试编辑的文字图层包含缺失字体,则 Photoshop 会显示一个对话框,要求您用默认字体替换缺失字体,然后继续进行编辑。在该对话框中,您可以选择以下任意选项:

  • 替换:选择该项可使用默认字体替换缺失字体。对于罗马文本,默认字体为 Myriad Pro 常规。
  • 取消:选择该项可退出文本编辑模式并继续激活缺失的 Adobe 字体。

管理缺失的非 Adobe 字体

如果文档中包含无法通过 Adobe Fonts 获取的字体,则 Photoshop 会在图层面板的文字图层上显示一个黄色的缺失字体图标。

管理无法通过 Adobe Fonts 获取的字体
管理无法通过 Adobe Fonts 获取的字体

如果尝试变换的文字图层包含无法通过 Adobe Fonts 获取的缺失字体,则 Photoshop 会显示一个警告对话框,告知您变换后的图层可能会看起来像素化或模糊。在该对话框中,您可以选择:

  • 变换:选择该项可继续执行变换操作,同时确认您了解图层可能会看起来像素化或模糊的限制。
  • 取消:选择该项可取消并替换缺失字体。请参阅以下步骤

如果尝试编辑的文字图层包含无法通过 Adobe Fonts 获取的缺失字体,则 Photoshop 会显示一个对话框,要求您使用默认字体替换缺失字体,或管理整个文档的缺失字体。在该对话框中,您可以选择以下任意选项:

  • 管理:选择该项可打开管理缺失字体对话框。请参阅以下步骤
  • 替换:选择该项可使用默认字体替换缺失字体。对于罗马文本,默认字体为 Myriad Pro 常规。
  • 取消:选择该项可退出文本编辑模式。

替换缺失字体

您可以用默认字体或文档中已使用的字体,来替换缺失的非 Adobe 字体。   

  1. 选择文字 > 管理缺失字体

  2. 管理缺失字体对话框中,使用下拉选项来管理缺失字体:

    • 替换为默认字体。对于罗马文本,默认字体为 Myriad Pro 常规。
    • 替换为文档中已使用的字体。
    • 不替换。 
  3. (可选)选择使用默认字体替换所有缺失字体,以使用默认字体替换文档中的所有缺失字体。

  4. 单击“确定”。

匹配字体

由 Adobe Sensei 提供支持

在 Photoshop 21.2(2020 年 6 月版)中,改进了“匹配字体”以支持更多字体、直排文本和多行检测。

不要再靠猜测来辨别字体,请让 Photoshop 为您解决这个难题。得益于智能图像分析的强大功能,只需凭借包含罗马/拉丁文或日语字体的图片,Photoshop 就能利用机器学习技术检测出图片中的具体字体,并将该字体与计算机或 Adobe Fonts 中已获许可的字体进行匹配,从而为您提供相似字体建议。 

  1. 选择矩形选框工具。在照片中的文本周围建立一个选区。

  2. 选择文字 > 匹配字体

    Photoshop 会显示与选区中的文本相似的字体列表。

    查找与图像中的字体匹配的字体
    查找与图像中的字体匹配的字体

  3. 匹配字体对话框中,使用以下选项来过滤结果。
    • (可选)选择文字选项 - 罗马日语
    • (可选)取消选择显示可从 Adobe Fonts 激活的字体,以隐藏来自 Adobe Fonts 的字体,并仅查看计算机上本地可用的字体。
  4. 在匹配的字体列表中,单击与照片中的字体最接近的字体。 

    Photoshop 将选择您单击的字体。现在,您可以使用匹配的字体向照片中添加文本。

选择文本进行字体匹配的最佳做法

  • 目前,匹配字体、字体分类和字体相似性功能仅适用于罗马/拉丁语和日语字符。
  • 与单行文本相比,在选择框中包含两到三行文本会得到更好的结果。
  • 紧靠文本左右两侧边缘裁剪选框。
  • 对一种字样和样式使用匹配字体功能。请勿在选择框中混合多种字样和样式。
  • 先拉直图像或校正图像透视,然后再使用匹配字体

预览字体

可以在“字符”面板中的字体系列菜单和字体样式菜单中查看某一种字体的样本,也可以在从其中选取字体的应用程序的其它区域中进行查看。下列图标说明了不同类型的字体:

  • 来自 Adobe Fonts (以前称为 Typekit )的字体
  • OpenType 
  • Type 1 
  • TrueType 
  • 多模字库 
  • OpenType SVG
  • OpenType 可变字体 

若要关闭预览功能或更改字体名称的点大小,请选择“文字”>“字体预览大小”,然后选择一个选项。

搜索字体

通过使用“星号”将字体标记为收藏字体,以便快速访问您的首选字体。

Photoshop 选择收藏字体
使用“星号”标记您的收藏字体

搜索字体时,您可以按分类(如衬线或无衬线)或按视觉相似度过滤字体,以缩小您的搜索范围。此外,您可以选择搜索计算机上已安装的字体或从 Adobe Fonts 同步的字体。

用于搜索字体的工具

滤镜

按分类(如“衬线”、“脚本”和“手写”)过滤字体列表。

显示来自 Adobe Fonts 的字体

仅在字体列表中显示从 Adobe Fonts 同步的字体。

显示收藏字体

仅显示之前用星号标记为收藏的字体。

显示相似字体

显示在视觉上与选中的字体相似的字体,其中包含来自 Adobe Fonts 的字体。

选择字体和字体样式

  • 在“字符”面板或选项栏中选择字体过滤器。如果在计算机上安装了某个字体系列的多个变体 - 例如,常规、斜体、粗体和粗斜体 - 则不同的变体将汇总到同一个菜单项目下方。您可以展开项目并选择所需的变体。 
注意:

使用向上和向下箭头键来浏览字体列表。在字体系列上使用 Cmd/Ctrl + 向下箭头组合键可将该系列展开。在字体系列或变体上使用 Cmd/Ctrl + 向上箭头组合键可将该系列折叠。

Photoshop“字体系列”菜单
汇总到同一个菜单项目下方的字体变体

注释:

  • 如果选取的字体系列不包含粗体或斜体样式,请单击“字符”面板中的“仿粗体”按钮 或“仿斜体”按钮 以应用模拟样式。或者,从“字符”面板菜单中选取“仿粗体”或“仿斜体”。
  • 尝试动态快捷键。动态快捷键(只能在编辑模式中从“字符”面板菜单打开)是可用于“仿粗体”、“仿斜体”、“全部大写字母”、“小型大写字母”、“上标”、“下标”、“下划线”和“删除线”的键盘快捷键。
  • 不能将“仿粗体”格式应用于变形文字。
注意:

可以通过在文本框中键入字体系列和样式的名称来进行搜索。在您键入的同时,名称中包含您输入的文本的字体开始出现。继续键入其它字母直到出现您需要的字体或样式名称。

更改多个图层上的字体

  1. 在“图层”面板中,选择要更改的文字图层。
  2. 在“字符”面板中,从弹出式菜单中选择文字特性。

字形保护

如果在选择罗马字体之后输入非罗马文本(例如日文或西里尔文),则字形保护功能将防止出现不正确的、不可辨认的字符。默认情况下,Photoshop 通过自动选择一种适当的字体来提供字形保护。要停用字形保护,请取消选择“文字”首选项中的“启用丢失字形保护”。

OpenType 字体

OpenType 字体使用一个同时适用于 Windows 和 Macintosh 计算机的字体文件,因此,您可以将文件从一个平台移到另一个平台,而不用担心字体替换或其它导致文本重新排列的问题。它们可能包含一些当前 PostScript 和 TrueType 字体不具备的功能,如花饰字和自由连字。

注意:

OpenType 字体会在字体列表中显示 图标。

使用 OpenType 字体时,您可以自动替换文本中的替代字形,如连字、小型大写字母、分数字以及旧式的等比数字。

OpenType 字体使用一个同时适用于 Windows 和 Macintosh 计算机的字体文件,因此,您可以将文件从一个平台移到另一个平台,而不用担心字体替换或其它导致文本重新排列的问题。它们可能包含一些当前 PostScript 和 TrueType 字体不具备的功能,如花饰字和自由连字。

注意:

OpenType 字体会在字体列表中显示 图标。

使用 OpenType 字体时,您可以自动替换文本中的替代字形,如连字、小型大写字母、分数字以及旧式的等比数字。

常规字体(左)和 OpenType 字体(右)

A. 序数字 B. 自由连字 C. 花饰字 

OpenType 字体可能包括扩展的字符集和版面特征,用于提供更丰富的语言支持和高级的印刷控制。在应用程序字体菜单中,包含中欧 (CE) 语言支持的 Adobe OpenType 字体包括单词"Pro"作为字体名称的一部分。不包含中欧语言支持的 OpenType 字体被标记为"Standard"并带有"Std"后缀。所有 OpenType 字体也可以与 PostScript Type 1 和 TrueType 字体一起安装和使用。

请参阅 OpenType,了解有关 OpenType 字体的详细信息。

应用 OpenType 功能

  1. 使用文字工具时确保选取了 OpenType 字体。如果不选择任何文本,则设置将应用于您创建的新文本。
  2. 从“字符”面板菜单的“OpenType”子菜单中,选择以下选项之一:

    标准连字

    某些字符对的印刷替代字符,例如 fi、fl、ff、ffi 和 ffl。

    上下文替代样式

    某些书写体字样中包括的替代字符,用于提供更好的连接行为。例如,如果在启用了上下文替代样式的情况下使用 Caflisch Script Pro,单词“bloom”中的字母对“bl”会连接起来,以使其看起来更像手写体。

    自由连字

    字母对的印刷替代字符,例如 ct、st 和 ft。

    注意:

    尽管连字中的字符看起来是连在一起的,但它们完全可以编辑,并且不会导致拼写检查器错误地标出该字。

    花饰边

    代替花饰边符号,带扩展描边(夸张花饰)的风格化字体。

    旧样式

    比常规数字短的数字,其中一些旧样式的数字降低到文字基线以下。

    替代样式

    为创建纯美学效果的风格化字符设置格式。

    标题替代字

    用于大字号设置(例如标题)的字符(通常所有字母都大写)设置格式。

    花饰字

    向文字系列添加个人签名的图案,可以用作标题页装饰、段落标记、文本块划分符或重复的条纹或边框。

    序数字

    自动用上标字符设置序数字(如 1st 和 2nd)的格式。西班牙文单词 segundasegundo 中的上标(2a 和 2o)这样的字符也能正确排版。

    分数

    自动设置分数的格式;用斜线分隔的数字(如 1/2)将被转换为分数(如 )。

    注意:

    应用 OpenType 功能(如上下文替代字、连字和字形)后,才能在 Photoshop 中预览这些功能。不过,可以通过使用 Adobe Illustrator 的“字形”面板来预览和应用 OpenType 功能。将文本拷贝并粘贴到 Adobe Illustrator 中,然后使用“字形”面板来预览和应用 OpenType 功能。稍后可以将文本贴回到 Photoshop 中。

OpenType SVG 字体

Photoshop 支持 OpenType SVG 字体,并随附 Trajan Color Concept 和 EmojiOne 字体。OpenType SVG 字体在一种字形中提供了多种颜色和渐变。在 Mac OS 平台上,Apple Color Emoji 字体的受支持程度有限,即使它不是 OpenType SVG 字体。

OpenType SVG 字体:多种颜色和渐变

Emoji 字体是 OpenType SVG 字体的一个例子。使用 Emoji 字体,您可以在文档中包含各种彩色的图形化字符,例如表情符号、旗帜、路标、动物、人物、食物和地标。使用 OpenType SVG emoji 字体(如 EmojiOne 字体),您可以通过一个或多个其他字形创建某些复合字形。例如,您可以创建国家/地区的旗帜,或者更改描述人物的某些字形的肤色。

有关详细信息,请参阅使用 SVG 字体

OpenType 可变字体

OpenType 可变字体支持各类自定义属性,如直线宽度、宽度、倾斜度、视觉大小等。Photoshop 附带几种可变字体,您可以使用“属性”面板中便捷的滑块控件调整其直线宽度、宽度和倾斜度。在“字符”面板或“选项”栏的在字体列表中,搜索可变可查找可变字体。或者,查找字体名称旁边的 图标。

字体列表:某些可变字体
字体列表:某些可变字体

可变字体的滑块控件
“属性”面板:可变字体的滑块控件

在调整这些滑块控件时,Photoshop 会自动选择与当前设置最接近的文字样式。例如,在增加常规文字样式的倾斜度时,Photoshop 会自动将其更改为一种斜体的变体。

Adobe 徽标

登录到您的帐户

About fonts

Font

A font is a complete set of characters—letters, numbers, and symbols—that share a common weight, width, and style, such as 10‑pt Adobe Garamond Bold.

Typeface

Typefaces (often called type families or font families) are collections of fonts that share an overall appearance, and are designed to be used together, such as Adobe Garamond. Typefaces include many characters in addition to the ones you see on your keyboard. Depending on the font, these characters can include ligatures, fractions, swashes, ornaments, ordinals, titling and stylistic alternates, superior and inferior characters, old‑style figures, and lining figures.

Glyph

A glyph is a specific form of a character. For example, in certain fonts, the capital letter A is available in several forms, such as swash and small cap.

Type style

A type style is a variant version of an individual font in a font family. Typically, the Roman or Plain (the actual name varies from family to family) member of a font family is the base font, which may include type styles such as regular, bold, semibold, italic, and bold italic. If a font doesn’t include the style you want, you can apply faux styles—simulated versions of bold, italic, superscript, subscript, all caps, and small caps styles.

To make fonts available to Photoshop and other Adobe Creative Cloud applications, see Activate fonts on your computer.

Automatically activate fonts

Introduced in Photoshop 21.2 (June 2020 release)

When you open a document that contains fonts that aren't installed on your computer, Photoshop automatically fetches and activates those missing fonts from Adobe Fonts while you're connected to the internet. 

Auto-activate Adobe Fonts

When you open a document containing type layers, you may see a blue sync icon over some of the type layers in the Layers panel indicating an automatic activation of missing fonts from Adobe Fonts. As the download finishes, the sync icon is replaced by the standard type layer icon. You can now use the activated font in your document and also in other applications on your computer.

When you try to edit a type layer with a missing font while the font activation is in progress, Photoshop displays a dialog that asks you to replace the missing font with a default font and continue editing. In the dialog, you can choose any of the following:

  • Replace: Select to replace missing fonts with the default font. For Roman text, the default font is Myriad Pro Regular.
  • Cancel: Select to exit text-editing mode and resume activation of your missing Adobe Fonts.

Manage missing non-Adobe fonts

If you have a missing font in your document that is not available via Adobe Fonts, Photoshop displays a yellow missing font icon over the type layer the Layers panel.

Manage missing fonts that are not available via Adobe Fonts
Manage missing fonts that are not available via Adobe Fonts

If you try to transform a type layer with a missing font that is not available via Adobe Fonts, Photoshop displays a warning dialog informing you that your layer may look pixelated or blurry after transforming. In the dialog, you can choose to:

  • Transform: Select to continue with the transform operation, knowing the limitation that your layer may look pixelated or blurry.
  • Cancel: Select to cancel and replace the missing font. See the steps below.

If you try to edit a type layer with a missing font that is not available via Adobe Fonts, Photoshop displays a dialog that asks you to replace the missing font with a default font or manage missing fonts for your entire document. In the dialog, you can choose any of the following: 

  • Manage: Select to open the Manage Missing Fonts dialog. See the steps below.
  • Replace: Select to replace missing fonts with the default font. For Roman text, the default font is Myriad Pro Regular.
  • Cancel: Select to exit out of text-editing mode.

Replace missing fonts

You can replace missing non-Adobe fonts with the default font or a font already used in the document.   

  1. Choose Type > Manage Missing Fonts

  2. In the Manage Missing Fonts dialog, use the drop-down options to manage missing fonts: 

    • Replace with the default font. For Roman text, the default font is Myriad Pro Regular.
    • Replace with a font already used in the document.
    • Don't replace. 
  3. (Optional) Select Replace All Missing Fonts With the Default Font to replace all missing fonts in the document with the default font.

  4. Click OK.

Match Fonts

Powered by Adobe Sensei

In Photoshop 21.2 (June 2020 release), Match Font has been improved to support more fonts, vertical text, and multiple-line detection.

Take the guesswork out of identifying certain fonts and let Photoshop do the hard work for you. Thanks to the magic of intelligent imaging analysis, using just a picture of a Roman/Latin or Japanese font, Photoshop can use machine learning to detect which font it is and match it to licensed fonts on your computer or on Adobe Fonts, suggesting similar fonts. 

  1. Select the Rectangular Marquee Tool. Make a selection around the text in your photo.

  2. Select Type > Match Font.

    Photoshop displays a list of fonts similar to the text in your selection.

    Find matching font in an image
    Find matching font in an image
  3. In the Match Font dialog, use the options below to filter the results. 
    • (Optional) Choose a Type Option - Roman or Japanese.
    • (Optional) Deselect Show Fonts Available To Activate From Adobe Fonts to hide fonts from Adobe Fonts and only view fonts available locally on your computer.
  4. In the matching fonts list, click the font that is closest to the font in your photo. 

    Photoshop selects the font you clicked. You can now add text to the photo using the matched font.

Best practices for selecting text for font matching

  • Match Font, font classification, and font similarity features currently work only for Roman/Latin and Japanese characters.
  • Including two to three lines of text in the selection box give better results as compared to a single line of text.
  • Closely crop the selection box to the left and right edges of the text.
  • Use Match Font on a single typeface and style. Don't mix typefaces and styles inside the selection box.
  • Straighten or correct perspective on the image before using Match Font.

Preview fonts

You can view samples of a font in the font family and font style menus in the Character panel and other areas in the application from where you can choose fonts. The following icons are used to indicate different kinds of fonts:

  • Fonts from Adobe Fonts  (previously Typekit )
  • OpenType 
  • Type 1 
  • TrueType 
  • Multiple Master 
  • OpenType SVG 
  • OpenType variable fonts 

To turn off the preview feature or change the point size of font names choose Type > Font Preview Size, and choose an option.

Search for fonts

You can quickly access your preferred fonts by "starring" fonts as favorites.

Photoshop Choose favorite fonts
"Star" your favorite fonts

While searching for fonts, you can narrow down the results by filtering fonts by classification, like Serif or Sans Serif, or by visual similarity. Further, you can choose to search among fonts installed on your computer or synchronized fonts from Adobe Fonts.

Tools for searching fonts

Filter

Filter the font list by classification, such as Serif, Script, and Handwritten.

Show Fonts From Adobe Fonts

Display only synchronized fonts from Adobe Fonts in the font list.

Show Favorite Fonts

Show only starred fonts marked earlier as favorites.

Show Similar Fonts

Show fonts, including fonts from Adobe Fonts, that are visually similar to the selected font.

Choose a font and font style

  • Choose a font filter in the Character panel or the Options bar. If more than one variant of a font family is installed on your computer—for example, Regular, Italic, Bold, and Bold Italic—the different variants are grouped under the same menu item. You can expand the item and select the desired variant.  

Note:

Use the Up and Down arrow keys to navigate the font list. Using the Cmd/Ctrl+Down arrow key combination over a font family expands it. Using the Cmd/Ctrl+Up arrow key combination over a font family or a variant within it collapses the font family.

Photoshop Font family menu
Font variants grouped under the same menu item

Notes:

  • If the font family you chose does not include a bold or italic style, click the Faux Bold button  or the Faux Italic button  in the Character panel to apply a simulated style. Alternatively, choose Faux Bold or Faux Italic from the Character panel menu.
  • Try dynamic shortcuts. Dynamic shortcuts are keyboard shortcuts that are available (in edit mode only from the Character panel menu) for Faux Bold, Faux Italic, All Caps, Small Caps, Superscript, Subscript, Underline, and Strikethrough.
  • You cannot apply Faux Bold formatting to warped type.

Note:

You can search for a font family and style by typing its name in the text box. As you type, fonts whose names contain the text you entered begin appearing. Continue typing until your desired font or style name appears.

Change the font on multiple layers

  1. In the Layers panel, select the type layers you want to change.
  2. In the Character panel, select type characteristics from the pop‑up menus.

Glyph protection

Glyph protection protects against incorrect, unreadable characters that appear if you enter non‑roman text (for example, Japanese or Cyrillic) after selecting a roman font. By default, Photoshop provides glyph protection by automatically selecting an appropriate font. To disable glyph protection, deselect Enable Missing Glyph Protection in the Type preferences.

OpenType fonts

OpenType fonts use a single font file for both Windows and Macintosh computers, so you can move files from one platform to another without worrying about font substitution and other problems that cause text to reflow. They may include a number of features, such as swashes and discretionary ligatures, that aren’t available in current PostScript and TrueType fonts.

Note:

OpenType fonts display the  icon in the font lists.

When working with an OpenType font, you can automatically substitute alternate glyphs, such as ligatures, small capitals, fractions, and old style proportional figures, in your text.

OpenType fonts use a single font file for both Windows and Macintosh computers, so you can move files from one platform to another without worrying about font substitution and other problems that cause text to reflow. They may include a number of features, such as swashes and discretionary ligatures, that aren’t available in current PostScript and TrueType fonts.

Note:

OpenType fonts display the  icon in the font lists.

When working with an OpenType font, you can automatically substitute alternate glyphs, such as ligatures, small capitals, fractions, and old style proportional figures, in your text.

Regular and OpenType fonts
Regular (left) and OpenType (right) fonts

A. Ordinals B. Discretionary ligatures C. Swashes 

OpenType fonts may include an expanded character set and layout features to provide richer linguistic support and advanced typographic control. OpenType fonts from Adobe that include support for central European (CE) languages include the word “Pro,” as part of the font name in application font menus. OpenType fonts that don’t contain central European language support are labeled “Standard,” and have an “Std” suffix. All OpenType fonts can also be installed and used alongside PostScript Type 1 and TrueType fonts.

See OpenType for more information on OpenType fonts.

Apply OpenType features

  1. Make sure you have an OpenType font chosen when using the Type tool. If you don’t select any text, the setting applies to new text you create.
  2. From the Character panel menu, choose one of the following from the OpenType submenu:

    Standard Ligatures

    Are typographic replacements for certain pairs of characters, such as fi, fl, ff, ffi, and ffl.

    ligature

    Contextual Alternates

    Are alternative characters included in some script typefaces to provide better joining behavior. For example, when using Caflisch Script Pro with contextual alternatives enabled, the letter pair “bl” in the word “bloom” is joined so that it looks more like handwriting.

    Discretionary Ligatures

    Are typographic replacement characters for letter pairs, such as ct, st, and ft.

    Note:

    Although the characters in ligatures appear to be joined, they are fully editable and do not cause the spelling checker to flag a word erroneously.

    Swash

    Substitutes swash glyphs, stylized letterforms with extended strokes (exaggerated flourishes).

    Old Style

    Are numerals shorter than regular numerals, with some old style numerals descending below the type baseline.

    Stylistic Alternates

    Formats stylized characters that create a purely aesthetic effect.

    Titling Alternatives

    Formats characters (usually all in capitals) designed for use in large‑size settings, such as titles.

    Ornaments

    Are devices that add a personal signature to the type family and can be used as title page decoration, paragraph markers, dividers for blocks of text, or as repeated bands and borders.

    Ordinals

    Automatically formats ordinal numbers (such as 1st and 2nd) with superscript characters. Characters such as the superscript in the Spanish words segunda and segundo (2a and 2o) are also typeset properly.

    Fractions

    Automatically formats fractions; numbers separated by a slash (such as 1/2) are converted to a shilling fraction (such as ).

    Note:

    You can’t preview OpenType features, such as contextual alternates, ligatures, and glyphs in Photoshop before you apply them. However, you can preview and apply OpenType features by using the Adobe Illustrator Glyphs panel. Copy and paste your text into Adobe Illustrator and use the Glyphs panel to preview and apply OpenType features. You can then paste the text back into Photoshop.

OpenType SVG fonts

Photoshop supports OpenType SVG fonts and ships with the Trajan Color Concept as well as the EmojiOne font. OpenType SVG fonts provide multiple colors and gradients in a single glyph. On the Mac OS platform, the Apple Color Emoji font is supported to a limited extent, even though it is not an OpenType SVG font.

v2_SQD
OpenType SVG fonts: Multiple colors and gradients

Emoji fonts are an example of OpenType SVG fonts. Using Emoji fonts, you can include a variety of colorful and graphical characters, such as smileys, flags, street signs, animals, people, food, and landmarks in your documents. OpenType SVG emoji fonts, such as the EmojiOne font, lets you create certain composite glyphs from one or more other glyphs. For example, you can create the flags of countries or change the skin color of certain glyphs depicting people.

For details, see Work with SVG fonts.

OpenType variable fonts

OpenType variable fonts support custom attributes like weight, width, slant, optical size, etc. Photoshop ships with several variable fonts for which you can adjust weight, width, and slant using convenient slider controls in the Properties panel. In the Character panel or Options bar, search for variable in the font list to look for variable fonts. Alternatively, look for the  icon next to the font name.

Font list: Some variable fonts
Font list: Some variable fonts
Slider controls for variable fonts
Properties panel: Slider controls for variable fonts

As you adjust the slider controls, Photoshop automatically chooses the type style closest to the current settings. For example, when you increase the slant for a Regular type style, Photoshop automatically changes it to a variant of Italic.