In order for Photoshop to run as smoothly as possible, in a way that's customized for your particular workflow, you need to set up your Preferences to your liking.
Numerous program settings are stored in the Adobe Photoshop Preferences file, including general display options, file-saving options, performance options, cursor options, transparency options, type options, presets and options for plug‑ins and scratch disks.
Most of these options are set in the Preferences dialog box.
Preference settings are saved each time you quit Photoshop. If Photoshop crashes, or is force quit, any changes to preferences, presets and your workspace will be lost.
Detailed information about specific preference settings appears in task-specific topics. For example, search Help for “Transparency preferences” to see those settings discussed in the context of related features such as layers.
Unexpected behavior may indicate damaged preferences. Restoring preferences to their default settings is a good idea when trying to troubleshoot unexpected behaviors in Photoshop.
Prior to restoring your preferences, make sure to back-up your preferences.
Using the keyboard shortcut or delete on quit preference to reset your preferences permanently deletes a subset of preferences files including settings from the preferences dialog, custom shortcuts, workspaces, and color settings. For a list of specific files that are deleted see these tables for preference file functions, names, locations for macOS and Windows.
Manually restoring your preferences is the most complete method for resetting Photoshop to its default state by making sure plug-in preferences and any user presets which may be causing a problem are not loaded.
Manually removing preferences files is the most complete method for restoring Photoshop to its default state. This method ensures all preferences and any user presets which may be causing a problem are not loaded.
Sometimes you will see messages containing warnings or prompts. You can suppress the display of these messages by selecting the Don’t Show Again option in the message. You can also globally redisplay all messages that have been suppressed.