Navigate and zoom artwork

Last updated on Oct 27, 2026

Learn how to navigate artwork and adjust the zoom level in Adobe Illustrator.

Use the Navigator panel, Zoom tool, Hand tool, or View menu commands to change the magnification and reposition artwork.

Navigate artwork using the Navigator panel

Select Window > Navigator.

In the Navigator panel thumbnail, select the area you want to view, or drag the proxy view area to reposition the visible portion of the artwork.

To change the zoom level, drag the zoom slider or enter a percentage in the zoom box.

The Navigator panel displays a thumbnail of the entire document and highlights the currently visible area.

Zoom artwork in or out

Select the Zoom tool from the toolbar.

Do one of the following:

  • Select the area you want to magnify
  • Press Alt (Windows) or Option (macOS) and select to zoom out
  • Drag a marquee around the area that you want to magnify

Change the zoom level from the View menu

Choose one of the following commands

Select View > Zoom In to increase the magnification.

Select View > Zoom Out to decrease the magnification.

Select View > Actual Size to display artwork at 100% magnification.

Select View > Fit Artboard in Window to fit the active artboard in the document window.

Select View > Fit All in Window to fit all artboards in the document window

You can also double-click the Zoom tool to display artwork at 100% magnification or double-click the Hand tool to fit the active artboard in the window. You can enter a zoom percentage in the zoom field at the lower-left corner of the document window.

Preview artwork at actual print size

Select View > Actual Size. By default, the Display Print Size at 100% Zoom preference is activated.

To deactivate this behavior, select Edit > Preferences > General (Windows) or Illustrator > Settings > General (macOS), and then deselect Display Print Size at 100% Zoom.

Reposition artwork using the Hand tool

Select the Hand tool from the toolbar.

Drag in any direction to reposition the artwork in the document window.

Show artwork outside the artboard

By default, the Navigator panel displays only artwork within the artboard boundaries.

To display all artwork on the canvas:

Open the Navigator panel.

From the panel menu, deselect View Artboard Contents Only.

Objects outside the artboard now appear in the Navigator panel.