Resolve Image Trace command not available

Last updated on Oct 25, 2026

Learn how to fix a grayed-out or inactive Image Trace command in Adobe Illustrator.

When you select an image, the Image Trace button may be unavailable in the Properties panel, the Image Trace panel may contain inactive controls, or the Image Trace command may be unavailable.

Find the causes and follow their solutions in sequence to fix the issue.

The image isn't selected

Image Trace is available only when a raster image is selected.

Select the Selection tool (V).

Select the image you want to trace.

Open Window > Image Trace or use Image Trace from the Properties panel.

If Image Trace is still unavailable, continue to the next section.

The image or layer is locked

Locked objects and layers can't be traced.

Open Window > Layers.

Check for lock icons next to the image or its layer.

Unlock any locked objects or layers.

Select the image again.

Open Window > Image Trace.

If Image Trace is still unavailable, continue to the next section.

The image is part of a clipping group

Images copied from other applications are sometimes placed inside a clipping group, which prevents Image Trace from becoming available.

Select the object.

Check whether Clip Group appears in the Properties panel or Control panel.

Select Object > Clipping Mask > Release.

Delete the clipping path.

Select the released image.

Open Window > Image Trace.

Image Trace should now be available

Issue isn't resolved after trying all the steps

Learn how to improve tracing results in Optimize image tracing results. For information about clipping masks and how they affect artwork selection, explore Create clipping masks.