Create and manage crop marks

Last updated on Oct 25, 2026

Learn how to create, remove, and configure crop marks in Adobe Illustrator desktop for accurate trimming, alignment, and print production workflows.

Crop marks indicate where printed artwork should be trimmed and help align artwork when exporting to other applications.

For document setup and print preparation workflows, configure artboards, and print boundaries in Set up documents before creating crop marks.

Create crop marks

Use Trim Marks to create editable crop marks that can be moved independently. Use the Crop Marks effect when crop marks should update automatically as the object changes.

Select the object you want to mark for trimming.

Do one of the following:

  • Select Object > Create Trim Marks to create editable crop marks.
  • Select Effect > Crop Marks to apply crop marks as a live effect.
Note

Crop marks do not replace trim marks created with the Marks & Bleed options in the Print dialog box.

Delete crop marks

Select the trim marks and press the Delete key to delete an editable crop or trim marks.

Select Crop Marks in the Appearance panel, and click the Delete Selected Item Icon to delete a crop marks effect.

Enable Japanese-style crop marks

Japanese-style crop marks use double lines and indicate a default bleed value of 8.5 points (3 mm).

Select Edit > Preferences > General (Windows) or Illustrator > Preferences > General (macOS).

Select Use Japanese Crop Marks, and then select OK.

All crop marks you create use the Japanese-style double-line format until you disable this preference.