Rasterize vector objects

Last updated on Oct 25, 2026

Learn how to rasterize vector artwork in Adobe Illustrator using either a permanent conversion or an editable raster effect.

Rasterization converts vector artwork into pixels. Use Object > Rasterize to permanently convert vector objects into bitmap images. Use Effect > Rasterize when you want to preserve the original vector artwork and apply rasterization as an editable appearance effect. Both methods use the same rasterization options, including color model, resolution, background, and anti-aliasing.

Permanently rasterize vector objects

Use this method when you no longer need to edit the artwork as vectors or apply rasterization as an editable object.

Select the vector objects.

Select Object > Rasterize.

In the Rasterize dialog box, specify the rasterization options.

The Rasterize dialog box showing color model, resolution, background, anti-aliasing, and clipping options.
Set the resolution, background, and anti-aliasing options for the rasterized objects.

Select OK.

The rasterization does not appear as an effect in the Appearance panel when you use Object > Rasterize. It appears there only when you use Effect > Rasterize.

Alert

Permanent rasterization replaces the original vector paths with pixels. After you save and close the document, you can't restore the vector artwork unless you have a previous version of the file.

To preserve the original vector artwork and apply rasterization as an editable appearance effect, select Effect > Rasterize.

Edit rasterization settings

After applying Effect > Rasterize, you can modify the rasterization settings without recreating the effect.

Select Window > Appearance.

Select the Rasterize link under the applied effect.

Update the rasterization settings as needed.

Select OK.