Use Photoshop layer comps in InDesign

Last updated on Oct 6, 2026

Learn how to select different design variations from a single PSD file by choosing layer comp states during placement in Adobe InDesign.

Use Photoshop layer comps to place different design variations from a single PSD file in InDesign. Select a layer comp during placement or change it later using Object Layer Options.

Place a Photoshop file using a layer comp

Select an existing frame or deselect all objects.

Select File > Place.

Locate and select your Photoshop file.

In the Place dialog box, locate the Layer Comp.

Select the layer comp state you want to use.

Select OK. The graphic displays the selected layer comp.

Change the layer comp after placement

Select the placed graphic.

Select Object > Object Layer Options.

Choose a different Layer Comp.

Select OK. Changing the layer comp doesn't modify the original Photoshop file.

If the graphic doesn't fit the frame, select Object > Fitting and then choose an appropriate fitting option.