Select Window > Layers.
- What's new
-
Get started
- Technical requirements and installation
-
Learn the basics
- Adobe Photoshop on desktop FAQ
- Home screen overview
- Workspace overview
- Access the Discover panel
- Save custom workspaces
- Switch workspaces
- Delete workspaces
- Restore workspaces
- Boost workflows with the Contextual Task Bar
- Rearrange document windows
- Hide or show all panels
- Dock or undock panels
- Move panels
- Add and remove panels
- Stack floating panels
- Expand or collapse panel icons
- Change text size in panels and tooltips
- Use simple math in number fields
- High-density monitor support and per-monitor scaling
- Arrange and group panels
- Request access to test experimental features
-
Set up toolbars and panels
- Customize toolbar
- Tooltips overview
- Create tool presets
- Use spring-loaded shortcuts
- Use Undo and Redo commands
- History panel settings
- Set History Log preferences
- View history logs
- Use snapshots in the History panel
- Paint with image states from the History panel
- Manage image states
- Restore parts of an image to a previous state
- Edit images with AI Assistant
- View and synchronize multiple images
-
Settings and preferences
- Adjust preferences
- Backup and restore preferences
- Reset preferences
- View keyboard shortcuts
- Change tool pointers
- Change Photoshop language settings
- Connect social media accounts for Content Credentials (Beta)
- Display file information in the info panel and document status bar
- Photoshop preferences locations
- Generative AI in Photoshop
-
Create, open, and import images
- Import files
-
Create images
- Generate an image with descriptive text prompts
- Edit images with Generative Fill
- Generate sharper variations with Enhance Detail
- Explore beyond the canvas with Generative Expand
- Use reference images for consistent results
- Generate images guided by a reference image
- Edit images with Prompt to edit
- Use Markup for AI image generation
- Create documents using presets
-
Create and manage layers
-
Get started with layers
- Layers overview
- Organize layers with layer groups
- Work with the Layers panel
- Video Layers overview
- Convert background and regular layers
- Duplicate layers
- Create document from layer or group
- Change transparency preferences
- Sample from all visible layers
- Rasterize layers
- Organize layers in the Layers panel
- Transform and manipulate layers
-
Color adjustment and fill layers
- Adjustment and fill layers overview
- Work with adjustment layers
- Use layer masks to target adjustment or fill layers
- Create adjustment layers
- Merging adjustment or fill layers
- Adjustment presets overview
- Create custom presets
- Correct color balance with Color and vibrance
- Create fill layers
- Adjustment layer options
- Change adjustment and fill layer options
- Adjust contrast with Clarity and Dehaze
- Adjust texture with Grain
- Adjust image lighting with Light
-
Apply layer effects
- Add layer styles
- Work with preset styles
- Layer style effects and options overview
- Manage preset styles
- Display or hide layer styles
- Copy and paste layer styles
- Import preset style libraries
- Manage contours
- Set a global lighting angle for all layers
- Scale layer effects
- Remove layer effects
- Work with layer styles
- Convert layer styles to image layers
-
Smart objects
- Smart Objects - overview and benefits
- Create embedded Smart Objects
- Create linked Smart Objects
- Update Linked Smart Objects
- View Linked Smart Object properties
- Embed Linked Smart Objects
- Package and locate linked Smart Objects
- Convert embedded Smart Objects to linked
- Filter the Layers panel by Smart Objects
- Duplicate an embedded Smart Object
- Edit the contents of a Smart Object
- Replace the contents of a Smart Object
- Convert Smart Objects to layers
- Rasterize Smart Objects
- Export the contents of an embedded Smart Object
- Reset Smart Object transforms
- Create layer compositions
- Layout and design tools
-
Get started with layers
-
Crop, resize, and transform
-
Resize and adjust resolution
- Printed image resolution
- Set image size and resolution
- Resample option in the Image Size dialog
- Monitor resolution and image display size
- File size
- Printer resolution
- Resolution specs for printing images
- Preserve visual content when scaling images
- Specify content to protect when scaling
- Resize images
- Resampling options in Photoshop
- Change the pixel dimensions of images
- Change print dimensions and resolution
- Manage image file size
- Resizing parameters in Photoshop
- Change the canvas size
- Image size, resolution, and resampling
- Transform images, shapes, and paths
- Crop and straighten
- Transform, manipulate, and reshape
-
Resize and adjust resolution
-
Make selections
- Get started with selections
-
Automatic and color-based selections
- Improve Select Subject and Remove Background results
- Make precise selections using Select People
- Remove objects with Delete and Fill Selection
- Improve hair selections with the Refine Hair tool
- Mask all objects in a layer
- Detect subject using Select Subject
- Paint a selection with Quick Selection tool
- Select areas by color with the Magic Wand tool
- Freehand selections
-
Refine and modify selections
- Move a selection or selection border
- Refine your selection and mask
- Hover layer bounds in the Move tool
- Copy and paste selections
- Create multiple copies of a selection within an image
- Paste one selection into or outside another
- Delete or cut selected pixels
- Control the movement of a selection
- Hide or show selection edges
- Inverse selection
- Adjust a selection manually
- Select only an area intersected by other selections
- Refine and soften selection edges
- Select pixels using anti-aliasing
- Define a feathered edge for a selection tool
- Create a selection around a selection border
- Expand or contract a selection
- Clean up stray pixels in a color-based selection
- Fringe pixels around a selection
- Decrease the fringe on a selection
- Remove a matte from a selection
- Use selections for generative editing
- Select areas and pixels of images in focus
- Create masks
-
Repair and retouch
-
Remove objects and fill space
- Remove background in your images
- Replace background with Generate Background
- Retouch tools overview
- Blend objects and people into any background with Harmonize
- Remove objects and fill the area with Content-Aware Fill
- Adjust Content-Aware Fill settings
- Tools to fine-tune sampling and fill areas
- Apply or cancel Content-Aware fill changes
- View full-resolution preview in the Preview panel
- Remove objects from within the Contextual Task Bar
- Remove tool known issues and workarounds
- Remove tool minimum and recommended hardware requirements
- Remove objects
- Remove wires, people, and general distractions
- Review and refine general distractions
- Heal and clone
- Adjust light and tone
-
Clean and restore images
- Enhance image quality with Generative Upscale
- Define planes to adjust perspective
- Manipulate the planes to adjust perspective
- Edit different perspectives in the same image
- Keyboard shortcuts to adjust perspective
- Get started with Photomerge
- Create panoramic images with Photomerge
- Create 360-degree panoramas
- Remove imperfections with the Spot Healing Brush
- Retouch a large area with the Healing Brush tool
- Repair an area with the Patch tool
- Remove red eye in flash photos
- Define an image as a preset pattern
- Erase parts of an image with the Eraser tool
- Auto Erase with the Pencil tool
- Create smoother brush strokes using stroke smoothing
- Change pixels to transparent with the Background Eraser tool
- Remove similar pixels with the Magic Eraser tool
- Remove reflections
-
Remove objects and fill space
-
Adjust color
- Color profiles
- Choose colors
- Color modes
- Color corrections
- Selective color adjustments
- Color effects and techniques
-
Apply painting techniques
- Fill objects, selections, and layers
- Create and fill with patterns
-
Brushes and presets
- Get started with brush presets
- Display the Brush Settings panel and brush options
- Create a brush tip from an image
- Create a brush and set painting options
- Select a preset brush
- Create a new preset brush
- Create preset brush groups
- Rename preset brushes
- Delete preset brushes
- Import brushes and brush packs
-
Draw shapes and paths
- Create shapes
- Draw lines and curves
-
Text and typography
- Get started with text
- Select and manage fonts
- Type layers and creation
- Text on paths and shapes
- Characters and glyphs
- International text and languages
- Work with Dynamic Text
-
Effects and filters
- Get started with filters
- Smart filters
- Blur and sharpen filters
-
Artistic and stylize filters
- Reshape and distort images with Transform Warp
- Warp a Layer with Cylindrical Transform
- Get precise distortions with Split Warp
- Distort specific image areas with Puppet Warp
- Overview of Liquify filter
- Overview of distortion tools
- Use Liquify to distort an image
- Freeze or thaw areas
- Work with meshes
- Work with backdrops
- Reconstruct distortions
- Replace the sky in images
- Select and manage sky presets
- Enhance images with generative AI filters
- Neural filters
-
Use grids and measurement guides
- Alignment grids and guides
-
Measure and scale
- Manage measurement scales
- Manage scale markers
- Use the measurement log for performing measurements
- Measurement data points overview
- Create, edit, and delete data point presets
- Manage measurement logs
- About the measurement scale and scale markers
- Use rulers in Photoshop
- Measure and position with the Ruler tool
-
Add video and animation
-
Create animation frames
- Create frame-based animations
- Add frames to animations
- Select animation frames
- Edit animation frames
- Unify layer properties in animation frames
- Copy frames with layer properties
- Create frames using tweening
- Manage layer visibility in animation frames
- Specify a delay time in frame animations
- Choose a frame disposal method
- Specify looping in frame animations
- Delete animations
- Use keyframes
-
Create animation frames
-
Automate tasks
- Create and record actions
- Process a batch of files
- Automation settings and presets
-
Save and export
- Save files
-
Export files to different formats
- Video and animation export formats
- Enhance animation frames
- Flatten frames into layers
- Export video files or image sequences
- Photoshop file formats overview
- File compression in Photoshop
- Supported file formats in Photoshop
- Image file formats supported in Photoshop
- Export your work using the Quick Export as option
- Fine-tune export settings with Export As
- Export settings and export location preferences
- Export files in different sizes
- Export layers as files
- Export artboards as PDF
- Export artboards as files
- Save and export to cloud
- Metadata, CSS, and content credentials
-
Share and collaborate
- Collaborate and edit
- App integrations
-
Troubleshoot
- Tools and resources
- Performance and stability issues
- File and format issues
- Tool and feature issues
Create layers and layer groups
Learn how to use the Layers panel, Layer menu, and keyboard shortcuts to add new layers and organize content into groups in Adobe Photoshop on desktop.
Layers let you work on individual elements of your composition without affecting others, while layer groups help you organize related layers together for easier management. New layers appear above the currently selected layer in the Layers panel, or within a selected group.
Learn how to add content, isolate edits, or organize your document structure.
Create a layer or group with default settings
In the Layers panel, select the layer above which you want to create the new layer or group.
Do one of the following:
- Select Create a new layer at the bottom of the Layers panel.
- Select Create a new group at the bottom of the Layers panel.
Create a layer or group with custom options
Select Layer > New > Layer or Layer > New > Group.
You can also press Alt-click (Windows) or Option-click (macOS), then select Create a new layer or Create a new group.
In the New Layer or New Group dialog box, enter a name for the layer or group.
Configure these options:
Color: Assign a color label to help identify and organize the layer or group in the Layers panel.
Mode: Select how the new layer blends with the layers below.
Opacity: Set the transparency level of the new layer.
Use previous layer to create clipping mask: Clip the new layer so its contents are visible only where the layer below contains pixels.
To fill the layer with a neutral color for the selected blending mode, select Fill with neutral color.
Select OK.
Drag a file from Windows Explorer or macOS Finder into an open Photoshop document.
Use the on-canvas controls to move, scale, or rotate the imported content.
Press Enter (Windows) or Return (macOS) to commit the placement.
By default, Photoshop places imported files as Smart Objects. If you need a raster layer, select the imported Smart Object layer. Right-click the layer and select Rasterize Layer.
If you place a multilayer file, such as a PSD document, Photoshop places a flattened version on a single layer. To preserve individual layers, open the source file and duplicate the required layers into the destination document.
Duplicate a layer with all effects
Select the layer you want to duplicate in the Layers panel.
Drag the layer to Create a new layer at the bottom-rightof the Layers panel.
Convert a selection to a new layer
Use any selection tool to make a selection.
Select Layer > New > Layer Via Copy to copy the selection to a new layer or Layer Via Cut to move the selection to a new layer.
Group existing layers
Create groups to apply adjustments, masks, or transformations to multiple layers simultaneously. You can also nest groups within other groups to create a hierarchical organization for complex documents.
In the Layers panel, select multiple layers by pressing Ctrl-click (Windows) or Command-click (macOS) for each layer or select Layer > Group Layers to create a group.
Double-click the group name and enter a name.
Mode determines the blending mode for how the layer interacts with the layers under it. If the selected blend mode requires pixel content, select Fill with neutral color.
Create stunning images with Photoshop
Edit, retouch, and transform photos with the industry-leading creative tools you know and love.