Issues while using filters and effects

Last updated on Oct 4, 2026

Learn how to resolve common issues while using filters and effects in Adobe Photoshop on desktop.

Filters and effects in Photoshop may become unavailable because of image settings, system requirements, or feature-specific limitations.

Some filters are unavailable

Cause: Some filters are available only for images with supported color depths and color modes.

Remedy

Select Image > Mode to check the color depth and color mode of the current document.

If your image is 32-bit, select Image > Mode > 16 Bits/Channel.

If your image uses CMYK or Lab color mode, select Image > Mode > RGB Color.

Apply the filter again.

Turn on Blur Gallery, Liquify, and Oil Paint

Cause: Blur Gallery, Liquify, and Oil Paint require specific system and graphics processor support.

Remedy

The performance of certain features can also improve when OpenCL is enabled.

If Use Graphics Processor is unavailable or grayed out, check GPU compatibility and system requirements. If needed, update your graphics driver.

Select Edit > Preferences > Performance (Windows) or Photoshop > Settings > Performance (macOS).

Select Use Graphics Processor.

Select OK.

Restart Photoshop.

Apply the filter again.

Resolve insufficient memory errors

Cause: Photoshop may display an insufficient memory (RAM) message when there isn't enough available disk space for the operation.

Remedy

Add a scratch disk and ensure that sufficient free disk space is available on your computer. Keep approximately two to three times the document size available as free disk space.

Make Camera Raw Filter available

Cause: Camera Raw Filter supports images with 8-bit/channel and 16-bit/channel color depths.

Remedy

Select Image > Mode to check your current bit depth.

Select Image > Mode > 16 Bits/Channel or 8 Bits/Channel.

Select Filter > Camera Raw Filter.

Adjust the image settings in Camera Raw.

Select OK to apply the changes.

Sharpen blurred text

Cause: Text may remain blurred after sharpening if the image resolution is too low.

Remedy

Ensure the resolution is at least 300 pixels or higher.

For Type layers, select Type > Anti-Alias, and then select an appropriate anti-aliasing option.

Find the replacement for Refine Edge

Cause: The Refine Edge dialog is no longer available in the latest version of Photoshop.

Remedy

Use the Select And Mask workspace, which replaces the Refine Edge dialog and provides similar functionality.